Oatmeal Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I also cut the molasses in half, like several others have said they did. Still plenty sweet, but not cloyingly so. But, it blew up in my Breadman machine! By that, I mean it filled the whole chamber and pressed against the glass, making it a bear to pull out of the pan once it was cooked (and that was after I'd pulled a baseball sized chunk out before the cooking cycle happened. Mutant yeast perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robertjm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I made no changes to the recipe in order to give it a proper review. The dough was much too wet after mixing (looked almost like a batter bread). After baking, it still was not cooked. The bread barely rose. In the end, the bread was not palatable, was half cooked, and was very dense (in a bad way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
We love this bread! It is a huge hit...and when my 21 year old son calls and asks me to make him some "Candy Bread" This is what he wants! I have changed nothing in the recipe...it is amazing all on its own :) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delicious! I don't use quick oats, so I used rolled oats and it turned out abulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Excellent. Just the way I wanted it to taste. Made it in the bread machine. Will probably make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious bread! I made in my bread machine. I will definitely make this over and over again. I was looking for a squaw bread recipe. This is what I had in mind. I will cut back on the honey or molasses because I think I'd enjoy it even more if it were a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This bread is way too sweet. I reduced molasses to 1/4c. And even with this reduction it's still more of a "dessert" bread. I also used rolled oats and as a result opted to bake on whole wheat cycle. Make sure to use Light Crust setting. Mine was VERY brown. I must say though that the consistency of the bread was really good: neither airy nor too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I thought it was one of the best breads I've ever made in my bread machine.So moist and pretty. Thanks for the recipe.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Delicious but very sweet. I made this for a 2nd time and used 2 1/4 tsp of dry active yeast. The top of the loaf was flat. I'll use 2 tsp of yeast next time instead. The bread is still quite tasty, if not as pretty as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States