Oatmeal Maple Syrup Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I made the following substitutions: blackberry honey for syrup, fat-free sour cream for half-and-half, whole wheat flour for all-purpose, light brown sugar for dark. I cut the salt to about 1/8 tsp and mixed the oats into the liquid ingredients to soak before combining the dry components. Because my oven runs hot, I baked slightly below 375. I used Wilton silicone muffin pans (pre-greased) and baked for about 16 minutes. The resulting muffins were delicious: moist and sweet. The tops were a bit flat, so I'll try more baking powder next time. Once properly cooled, my batch was not unusually crumbly--in fact, they hold together quite well. Soaking the oats must be the secret. I'll bet they'd be great with shredded carrot added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Very good! First thing I did was get my liquid ingredients together, to soak my oats. I added only 1/2 tsp of salt. The only problem was I didn't hear my timer go off at 15 minutes so they cooked a little longer, but not much, because the didn't burn. They did sink in on the tops, but were still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Great flavour and texture! This is one recipe using maple syrup where you can actually taste the maple. I substituted 1/2 cup plain lowfat yogurt for the cream as another reviewer did, with great success. I also added about 1/2 cup frozen blueberries and raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I love the flavor of maple and I love baking with it. This recipe appealed to me but I immediately noticed it had salt overload, so I reduced it by half. Also, tho’ I always bake with boldly flavored Grade B maple syrup, I wanted to ensure bold maple flavor, so I omitted the cinnamon and added 1 tsp. of maple extract. As I mixed up the batter, I was concerned – it was curdly, although it did correct once I added the dry ingredients. I was again concerned as they were baking - flat, spreading into “muffin tops” rather than rising into a rounded dome, and caving in the center. I often notice this feature in coffee houses and bakeries, so maybe that’s considered okay, but it doesn’t appeal to me. I prettied them up with an additional layer of maple flavor by brushing on more maple syrup I had reduced to a thick consistency onto the baked muffins. So now I’m ready for the taste test. First of all, my caved in muffin (which I cleverly tried to disguise with a sugar acorn decoration) fell apart into a plate full of cakey crumbs! Moist crumbs tho,’ so I’ll give it that anyway. And for all the maple in these muffins – the Grade B syrup, the maple extract and the glaze of concentrated maple syrup, they weren’t very maple-y at all. The taste was ok, oat muffin-like and not too sweet, but I have a rule for myself and my baking. If I don’t feel confident giving something away (mostly for pride reasons), the recipe is a failure for me. I will not give these away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
These muffins are sooooo good and incredibly easy to make! I didn't have half and half so I used vanilla soy milk and they turned out really well. Using real maple syrup makes a huge difference. Thanks for this recipe! I'll be making it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Because I have one child with a lactose allergy, I substituted vegetable oil for the butter and lactose-free milk in place of the half-n-half. I also cut back the salt to a healthy pinch. I've cooked with oatmeal before so I knew to mix all the wet ingredients together, then add the oatmeal and let it sit for 15 minutes to soak up some of the liquid. After that, I folded in the sugar and the remaining dry ingredients. I was able to get 11 smallish muffins from this recipe--I baked them at 350* for twenty minutes. VERY dark looking muffin but they smell incredible. My issue with this recipe was that the muffins were quite sweet, for us adding the additional brown sugar was overkill. I'd like to make this again but omit the brown sugar completely. As is, a solid muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These were SO YUMMY! My son wouldnt leave me alone, he just wanted more! I had to make some changes due to a medical diet, I put in apple sauce to replace the butter, and instead of half and half I put 1/4cup fat free yogurt, and 1/4 cup skim milk. I also added in some raisins! They are so good! Thanks a bunch! Mine never caved in nor fell apart! they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
First let me say that this recipe is an inflated cookie. It is sweet and has a crunchy top. It does fall completely apart. The flavor is nice. It's just not what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
My children absoluty love these muffins. They eat them for breakfast every morning. I used regular maple syrup and not real maple. I also used 2% milk, and so far I have not had a problem with them falling apart. Also, if you haven't already, add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VOGTIE
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Take the advice about soaking the oats in the liquid. Didn't have half-and-half on hand, so I substituted with 1/4 c. of skim milk and 1/4 c. of sour cream. Added 3-4 dried cranberries on top. Didn't have dark so I used light brown sugar. These came together very quickly and made 12 perfect muffins. Really good with a cup of tea! This is a keeper. UPDATE: I've been making different versions of these for a few weeks and now they're even better and HEALTHIER! Replace half the butter with plain applesauce. Use 2 eggs. Use low-fat half-and-half. Add 2 T. of toasted wheat germ. Reduce the salt to 3/4 teaspoon. Replace half the flour with whole wheat flour. Stir the oats into the liquid/egg/sugar mixture and let it sit while you sift together the dry ingredients. Don't over-mix the batter. Bake 6 GIANT mufffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOGTIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States