Oatmeal Maple Syrup Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Terrific! I made these healthier by substituting wholewheat flour for all-purpose, and using skim milk instead of half and half. The walnuts are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
These tasted great, but were very messy. I may have done something wrong, but they would not hold together. They fell apart even after cooling. I added the nuts, and had real maple syrup on hand, so the taste was very good. I seem to have a lot of trouble with muffins for some reason, so the problem was probably with me and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
These fell apart terrible. They taste wonderful, but I couldn't take them to the event they were made for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alto, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lowell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
We live in maple syrup country so I just had to try these. Unfortunately, we found them to be way too sweet and although quite moist, they fell apart very easily, just like previous reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
My children absoluty love these muffins. They eat them for breakfast every morning. I used regular maple syrup and not real maple. I also used 2% milk, and so far I have not had a problem with them falling apart. Also, if you haven't already, add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Very moist and not too sweet. I used soy milk instead of half-and-half, and I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup regular flour. I had no problem with the muffins falling apart. I added chocolate chips, but I think that it tastes better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELLE04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I can't rate these accurately because I made some substitutions for ingredients I didn't have...2% milk subbed for the half and half, and I used four packets of strawberry oatmeal, and only used half the amount of brown sugar since that oatmeal was already sweetened. These taste like oatmeal cookies, and they stayed together fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
These were fabulous! Used margarine instead of butter (and minus about 2 tablespoons), and didn't have any half/half so I substituted 1/2 cup of fat-free plain yogurt. Very delicioius, kept together great, and very moist! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I really like the taste of these muffins, but am having trouble kepeing them from falling apart. I did substitute 2% for the half and half (maybe too much water content?) and have tried the recipe with both margarine and shortening but to no avail. I also notice after I cream the fat and sugar together and add the syrup, the fat seems to break apart and separate out. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSCHOOL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
These muffins are sooooo good and incredibly easy to make! I didn't have half and half so I used vanilla soy milk and they turned out really well. Using real maple syrup makes a huge difference. Thanks for this recipe! I'll be making it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States