Oatmeal Maple Syrup Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
My muffins fell apart a bit too, and were a little salty. next time i will try putting the oats into the wet mixture to soak for a few mins. before adding the flour mixture. However i love these muffins. My 4 year old daughter does too, thank god! I will Make these again and again. Thanx for a recipe that i can pass along to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I made the following substitutions: blackberry honey for syrup, fat-free sour cream for half-and-half, whole wheat flour for all-purpose, light brown sugar for dark. I cut the salt to about 1/8 tsp and mixed the oats into the liquid ingredients to soak before combining the dry components. Because my oven runs hot, I baked slightly below 375. I used Wilton silicone muffin pans (pre-greased) and baked for about 16 minutes. The resulting muffins were delicious: moist and sweet. The tops were a bit flat, so I'll try more baking powder next time. Once properly cooled, my batch was not unusually crumbly--in fact, they hold together quite well. Soaking the oats must be the secret. I'll bet they'd be great with shredded carrot added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Great flavour and texture! This is one recipe using maple syrup where you can actually taste the maple. I substituted 1/2 cup plain lowfat yogurt for the cream as another reviewer did, with great success. I also added about 1/2 cup frozen blueberries and raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
First let me say that this recipe is an inflated cookie. It is sweet and has a crunchy top. It does fall completely apart. The flavor is nice. It's just not what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Too much salt - turned out too salty. I would have added raisins to sweeten the muffins and reduced the salt (even omitted it). Overall, it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
So yummy! I made these a little healthier by using wheat flour,low sugar syrup and buttermilk. Also, noticing that some reviewers' muffins fell apart, I let the oats 'soak' in the wet ingredients for 5 minutes before I added the rest of the dry. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Although these were a complete disaster for me, I think it was partly my own fault. I should NOT have over-filled the muffin cups! It's 30 out this morning and I had smoke alarms going off and had to open doors and windows! Needless to say, I was forced to remove them before they were thoroughly cooked. The only reason I am giving this 2 stars is because (what I could salvage from the ends) was very tasty. I also thought the batter was a little runny putting them in the muffin cups.....more like a cake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I followed the recipe to a tee. These were very dense. OK flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
These muffins just didn't turn out. It was the first time my muffin pan over-flowed, causing a big mess on the bottom of my oven. The flavour however was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lengnau, Aargau, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
These muffins are sooooo good and incredibly easy to make! I didn't have half and half so I used vanilla soy milk and they turned out really well. Using real maple syrup makes a huge difference. Thanks for this recipe! I'll be making it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States