Oatmeal Maple Syrup Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Did anyone else use artificial maple syrup? Don't. I'll try to remake these with real syrup, they are not worth remaking with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Was looking for something with REAL food in it, no artificial to give the kids for breakfast. Was up early so I gave it a go. Aside from using light brown sugar & whole milk and adding 1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts, I I changed nothing else. I did use real maple syrup and gave them to he kids with a little applesauce on the side. LOVED THEM!!!! As did my husband and I. Yummy! I may try and decrease the brown sugar a bit next time and see if they stay as moist. All-in-all very pleased with this recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Totally worth the extra cash to use real maple syrup on these. The flavor is phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
-I didn't have the quick cooking oats, & used classic old oats. I had to soak it with the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I made these hoping to take them to church. They ended up looking like hollowed-out muffin cups that could hold about 2Tbs of filling (I'm not sure what). The best I could do with them is scoop and scrape them off of the overflowing but hollow muffin cups and serve them in bowls as baked oatmeal to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These are really good. I was trying to use up all the stuff at home, so I substituted powdered sugar for brown sugar (not supposed to XD), coffee creamer for half and half, and margarine for butter 0.0 Nevertheless, if was still AWESOME. I'm just a little confused about the tops....they're all flat. That's a little strange for muffins, but it's okay. Definitely going to make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren Sung

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I love the flavor of maple and I love baking with it. This recipe appealed to me but I immediately noticed it had salt overload, so I reduced it by half. Also, tho’ I always bake with boldly flavored Grade B maple syrup, I wanted to ensure bold maple flavor, so I omitted the cinnamon and added 1 tsp. of maple extract. As I mixed up the batter, I was concerned – it was curdly, although it did correct once I added the dry ingredients. I was again concerned as they were baking - flat, spreading into “muffin tops” rather than rising into a rounded dome, and caving in the center. I often notice this feature in coffee houses and bakeries, so maybe that’s considered okay, but it doesn’t appeal to me. I prettied them up with an additional layer of maple flavor by brushing on more maple syrup I had reduced to a thick consistency onto the baked muffins. So now I’m ready for the taste test. First of all, my caved in muffin (which I cleverly tried to disguise with a sugar acorn decoration) fell apart into a plate full of cakey crumbs! Moist crumbs tho,’ so I’ll give it that anyway. And for all the maple in these muffins – the Grade B syrup, the maple extract and the glaze of concentrated maple syrup, they weren’t very maple-y at all. The taste was ok, oat muffin-like and not too sweet, but I have a rule for myself and my baking. If I don’t feel confident giving something away (mostly for pride reasons), the recipe is a failure for me. I will not give these away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
These were really good - moist and great flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. Only change I will make for next time is to cut the salt in half - just a tiny bit salty but otherwise a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Because I have one child with a lactose allergy, I substituted vegetable oil for the butter and lactose-free milk in place of the half-n-half. I also cut back the salt to a healthy pinch. I've cooked with oatmeal before so I knew to mix all the wet ingredients together, then add the oatmeal and let it sit for 15 minutes to soak up some of the liquid. After that, I folded in the sugar and the remaining dry ingredients. I was able to get 11 smallish muffins from this recipe--I baked them at 350* for twenty minutes. VERY dark looking muffin but they smell incredible. My issue with this recipe was that the muffins were quite sweet, for us adding the additional brown sugar was overkill. I'd like to make this again but omit the brown sugar completely. As is, a solid muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States