Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I was utterly disappointed by this recipe. They were completely stuck to the pan--I tried baking the second batch a bit longer than the first to see if that would help, cooling them cookies completely before trying to scrape them off the parchment, cooling them only slightly, and everything in between. The bits I managed to scrape off had okay flavor, but ultimately not worth the trouble or the amount of parchment I probably consumed on accident. I ended up throwing most of the cookies away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Tan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
An absolutely FABULOUS cookie!!!! I read previous comments ... always use parchment paper for cookies and every cookie will turn out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Barr Ahrens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Excellent base recipe! I have an addiction to warm spices and find any excuse to add them, so I did add 1 tsp molasses to the creamed mixture substituted half of the granulated sugar with brown sugar. I also added some cinnamon, ground ginger and ground clove to the dry ingredients. Mine only took 8 minutes to bake on parchment paper and I used a cookie scoop with 6 cookies per sheet. Great chewy texture! Both of my boys loved them and me too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jon Apel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
these cookies are great! I found they stuck less on my dark cookie sheet than the light colored one, and the longer they are in the oven the easier they come off as well, and they taste better. Also, if you leave them to cool on the pan longer than a minute they are impossible to get off, but if you pop them back in the oven for 30 seconds or so, they release again. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Cookies are great, but use a teaspoon not a table spoon of vanilla extract, and almond is even better. At 1/4 tsp per cookie you get 80+ not two dozen. I use silicone rubber sheets, two advantages, no sticking and you can losd up sheet 2 while sheet 1 is baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I made these on the fly b/c I didn't have any eggs on hand. I really like this recipe, super easy and quite tasty results!! I didn't have corn syrup, or maple syrup, so I used extra virgin olive oil, and it worked just fine. Instead of cream, I used vanilla soymilk b/c that's all I had! The batter was kind of dry, so I added a little more olive oil. They cookies didn't flatten out as much as in the photos, BUT they still tasted uber delicious. I also added cinnamon, ginger, and coconut flakes. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutrinutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I loved it. After seeing how small 1/4 tsp worth of cookies were I exchanged it for a heaping 1/2 tsp. I also baked them on baking paper and they peeled off easily. I am officially addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bakinggirl
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I generally decrease the amount of sugar in every cookie recipe I try just to be on the safe side, but for this recipe, I would definitely recommend going with the full sugar amount. I baked mine on a silpat so there was no issue with sticking. They were a bit greasy coming out of the oven, but once cooled, the greasiness went away (thank goodness!). Baking mine in a few batches, I find that I like these a bit more brown (around 9 minutes in my 375-degree oven), which adds more flavor and crispness. Very good recipe, definitely worth a try! Be sure to leave plenty of room between scoops of dough or they will blend together for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great! I have been looking for years for a lace oatmeal and this is the closest. I may try to adjust a bit but tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These were the best cookies I ever made! My German mother in law asked me to find them at a bakery. I did better and made them myself! She said they were the best she ever had.... I didn't even get a chance to take a picture of them..... Kids ate them up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Besgabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States