Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
These cookies are great! I was a little worried about them sticking so I used parchment paper on my cookie sheets and it worked wonderfully. **I was also low on light corn syrup so I substituted maple pancake syrup, it was delicious!* for a fun holiday treat I put two of them together with a chocolate filling, everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I added some vanilla, about 1/2 tsp. I would probably add more next time. Also, drizzling some melted chocolate on the top makes 'em look as fancy. However, no need to space 4" apart! I spaced them 1-2 inches apart with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2000
we substituted honey for corn syrup & they came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Delicious dipped in chocolate!!! For all of those who say they stick to the pan...I line my pan with tin foil, and they peel right off. I also make little bowls and put whipped cream and fruit in them. As soon as they come out of the oven, before removing from the foil, I shape the cookie into a bowl shape using my oven mitt, and a small dish. Hint: tear the foil into individual pieces before putting the cookie batter on the pan, so they are easier to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KENGIEB
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I found that letting these cool on the cookie sheet for about 2 minutes made getting them off a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
These were completely stuck on the pan!! I even sprayed it with cooking spray. I had to chisel them off the pan and they broke off in little pieces and were dripping with oil. They tasted ok, but were VERY greasy. The cookies WOULD NOT release from the last pan I pulled out of the oven. I ended up pouring water over them and washing them off the pan!! I made them again, but used a silicone baking mat and they easily peeled off and looked great. I don't know how you could make these without a mat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
We thought these were a great cookie. Make sure you bake the cookie until the edges are brown by that time the bottom of the cookie is crisp. Once cooled on the pan for about a minute you can actually pick the cookie off the pan- the first batch was a little too light and I needed the spatula. YUMMY Cookie! I did sub honey for the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
The best lace cookie I've ever had!! I up'd the servings to 36 and sandwiched them with chocolate. Make sure they are well baked of they will stick. If done right, they practically slide off. Also, I used a 1/2 tsp. cookie scoop leveled and these to me were the perfect size. I aslo spread them a bit with the back of a spoon to get them nice and thin. Do not bake these on a very humid day. They will not crisp up well due to moisture in the air. If it's muggy, make a red velvet or chocolate cake instead and save this for a dry day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this recipe was fun to make. i did sub maple syrup for the light corn syrup (as a reviewer suggested) and cooked them a bit longer until they were a warm amber color. used leftover fondue chocolate and coconut flakes and made numerous variations (plain, chocolate spread on top with coconut, sandwiched with chocolate with or without coconut) for my friend's going away party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I love these cookies!!! They are really easy to make. They came out great. Next time I am going to try dipping them in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States