Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I LOVED the taste of these cookies but couldn't get them off the pan. I tried coking them more and less time, using more and less dough per cookie, waiting different amounts of time after taking them out to the oven, to no avail. They tasted wonderful but they were so messed up when I got them off the cookie sheet that I couldn't take them to Christmas Dinner like I had planned... I ended up making chocolate chip cookies to take instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These hold up well for spreading chocolate to make thin sandwich cookies, but the flavor was unspectacular. I suspect it's because there's no salt in the recipe. Will try these again with 1/2 tsp salt. They certainly spread neatly and looked beautiful. I cooked them on a Silpat. This recipe needs a little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
We thought these were a great cookie. Make sure you bake the cookie until the edges are brown by that time the bottom of the cookie is crisp. Once cooled on the pan for about a minute you can actually pick the cookie off the pan- the first batch was a little too light and I needed the spatula. YUMMY Cookie! I did sub honey for the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
These were completely stuck on the pan!! I even sprayed it with cooking spray. I had to chisel them off the pan and they broke off in little pieces and were dripping with oil. They tasted ok, but were VERY greasy. The cookies WOULD NOT release from the last pan I pulled out of the oven. I ended up pouring water over them and washing them off the pan!! I made them again, but used a silicone baking mat and they easily peeled off and looked great. I don't know how you could make these without a mat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I love these cookies!!! They are really easy to make. They came out great. Next time I am going to try dipping them in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very good. Just like a recipe I ate years ago. (Make a sandwich out of two cookies with icing). I tried using dry parchment paper for the first batch and they stuck. After that I used the bare cookie sheet and a thin spatula to get them off the sheet. Timing is important when getting them off the sheet. After a couple trys you get the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe just did not work for me. The cookies stuck to the cookie sheet which I sprayed with "Pam". The texture did not seem right. I double checked the ingredients. The taste was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by KENGIEB
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I found that letting these cool on the cookie sheet for about 2 minutes made getting them off a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
These cookies are great! I was a little worried about them sticking so I used parchment paper on my cookie sheets and it worked wonderfully. **I was also low on light corn syrup so I substituted maple pancake syrup, it was delicious!* for a fun holiday treat I put two of them together with a chocolate filling, everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
This cookie has an excellent taste, but next time, i WILL grease the cookie sheet. They were almost impossible to get off the cookie sheet, when it was ungreased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States