Oatmeal Lace Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Krissi Miller
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made these for my husband who use to get them as a child from his mom. I had to find the exact recipe and here it was! For Christmas Eve, I made them to specification; however, I did add a little cinnamon and sugar McCormick sprinkle and they were delicious! I baked them for 4 minutes as I have a gas stove and anymore and it would have burned. They were wonderful and my husband was so happy with me :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissi Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Benson, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this recipe was fun to make. i did sub maple syrup for the light corn syrup (as a reviewer suggested) and cooked them a bit longer until they were a warm amber color. used leftover fondue chocolate and coconut flakes and made numerous variations (plain, chocolate spread on top with coconut, sandwiched with chocolate with or without coconut) for my friend's going away party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Delicious dipped in chocolate!!! For all of those who say they stick to the pan...I line my pan with tin foil, and they peel right off. I also make little bowls and put whipped cream and fruit in them. As soon as they come out of the oven, before removing from the foil, I shape the cookie into a bowl shape using my oven mitt, and a small dish. Hint: tear the foil into individual pieces before putting the cookie batter on the pan, so they are easier to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I LOVED the taste of these cookies but couldn't get them off the pan. I tried coking them more and less time, using more and less dough per cookie, waiting different amounts of time after taking them out to the oven, to no avail. They tasted wonderful but they were so messed up when I got them off the cookie sheet that I couldn't take them to Christmas Dinner like I had planned... I ended up making chocolate chip cookies to take instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These hold up well for spreading chocolate to make thin sandwich cookies, but the flavor was unspectacular. I suspect it's because there's no salt in the recipe. Will try these again with 1/2 tsp salt. They certainly spread neatly and looked beautiful. I cooked them on a Silpat. This recipe needs a little work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
We thought these were a great cookie. Make sure you bake the cookie until the edges are brown by that time the bottom of the cookie is crisp. Once cooled on the pan for about a minute you can actually pick the cookie off the pan- the first batch was a little too light and I needed the spatula. YUMMY Cookie! I did sub honey for the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
These were completely stuck on the pan!! I even sprayed it with cooking spray. I had to chisel them off the pan and they broke off in little pieces and were dripping with oil. They tasted ok, but were VERY greasy. The cookies WOULD NOT release from the last pan I pulled out of the oven. I ended up pouring water over them and washing them off the pan!! I made them again, but used a silicone baking mat and they easily peeled off and looked great. I don't know how you could make these without a mat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I love these cookies!!! They are really easy to make. They came out great. Next time I am going to try dipping them in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Very good. Just like a recipe I ate years ago. (Make a sandwich out of two cookies with icing). I tried using dry parchment paper for the first batch and they stuck. After that I used the bare cookie sheet and a thin spatula to get them off the sheet. Timing is important when getting them off the sheet. After a couple trys you get the hang of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This recipe just did not work for me. The cookies stuck to the cookie sheet which I sprayed with "Pam". The texture did not seem right. I double checked the ingredients. The taste was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States