Oatmeal Jam Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I have made this recipe twice in one weekend. It is very good. Here are some tips. Use the 9 X 13 pan but you will need to reserve only about 3/4 C of crumb mixture- otherwise there won't be enough to pack into the pan. I reserved all of the walnuts for the topping. I added 1 TSP of Vanilla and subbed nutmeg for cinnamon. Oh one more thing... I used half a jar of jam for each batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These are a delicious healthy snack..... I used all applesauce in place of the butter. It makes a soft bottom crust, then i mixed 1 - 1 1/2 cups more oats into the remainder of the mix, to make it more crumbly for the top. I used rasperry jam. They're just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
We really like these. We were looking for a healthy treat, though, so I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the butter. It added a really good flavor, reduced the fat, and I think helped the improve the crumbly factor other reviewers have mentioned--they stuck together just fine. However, one reviewer said she left out the sugar entirely and put tons of jam so I tried to just put half the sugar and tons of jam. It was okay but next time I'm just gonna put the sugar. Half the sugar = breakfast snack (not a problem), but all the sugar = treat (yum!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time last weekend. I used a jar of homemade peach jam (given to us by my husband's grandma). I don't know why but as I was making it - I just didn't have high expectations. I figured most of it would go to waste since my husband isn't a big oatmeal fan. I was pleasantly surprised! My husband and I both LOVED it. After he took his first bite - he asked me to make it again - so we wouldn't run out. His only complaint is that we didn't have any vanilla ice cream to go with it. (He stopped at the store the very next day to get some). We've been reheating the bars in the microwave and then serving it with ice cream all week. My only complaint is that I've gained 10 pounds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Yum! A little on the sweet side so it may benefit from a little less sugar and I found that I needed a whole cup of preserves rather than 3/4 cup. On the whole a very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This came out WAY to crumbly and would not stay in squares. I basically served it like it was a cobbler or a crisp. The taste is ok but not the greatest, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
YUM YUM!!! So quick and easy to make too! Great for a brunch or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
We LOVE these!! I find that 1 cup of fruit preserves is better then 3/4 cup and most of the time I do half strawberry or raspberry (my favorite) and half apricot or peach (dh's favorite).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very tasty, and about as easy as one can get. These can be used as a cookie, or as a dessert with a puff of whipped cream or a curl or two of ice cream. Used 3/4 cup of butter, and to cut down on the "sweet" overload, used fruit spread rather than preserves. Apricot and cherry were winners at my church lunch! Will try it with the applesauce to see if that works....saving a few calories, maybe. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
These were so delicious, fast and easy to make. And it was great I got to use up some of the raspberry jam from our garden(we have more than we can shake a stick at). thank you so much for this recipe =] i'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States