Oatmeal Grapefruit Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
EXTREMELY dry -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Did not find it "zingy" at all. Will find some other way to use my grapefruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I had the same problem, was very dry, and crumbly. no grapefruit taste. I tried it a second time add zest, brown sugar, and shortening. no better, the zest made it taste like the peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Four stars with revisions (I don't think I would even try to make the original version.). I took clues from others and changed this recipe quite a bit. Used 2 cups of flour instead of 3, used 2 eggs instead of 1. Whipped 1/3 c. honey, 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup white sugar with 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/4. Added vanilla and cinnamon. Left out the walnuts (didn't have) and mixed chopped pecans with pure maple syrup and raw sugar and sprinkled on top. Baked in 9x13 glass pan instead of loaf. Brought it to work and the guys loved it. We have so many grapefruits here in Phoenix this time of year, I will definitely make it again (with my revisions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The outside of this bread was so hard I had trouble biting through some parts of it. The inside was too soft, and was only saved by a few minutes in the toaster oven. The bitter aftertaste of the grapefruit ruined a pretty decent initial flavor. I made a juice icing with powdered sugar, but even that couldn't save it. It might have been better in muffin form as it would have been more evenly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Overall I was satisfied with this bread. I found it to be moist and a good density. I did not have enough grapefruit juice so I added some lemon and a little sugar to compensate. I think some zest would go a long way to make this taste better while adding some zing to it, something it is lacking. The top did start to get dark while the rest was still very moist, but in the end, it was good. I will try it again with orange as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
One big problem with this is that it doesn't even remotely taste of grapefruit. The zest of a whole grapefruit would definitely help. It wouldn't help though with the fact that the bread is far too dense, and that the inside takes 20 minutes longer to cook than the outside, leaving the outside dry and a bit crunchy. I will never ever make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asmyr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I think that the concept is great but like everyone that has rated this, changes are necessary for any success. I will not make this again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I used whole wheat flour instead of regular, and added a little extra honey. This bread is ok, but nothing special. Its has potential, but it definitely missing something... I just don't know what. It seems a bit dry and I'm sure a little applesauce would help. Might dry this one again, with a little experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberger

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
After reading the many poor reviews I almost passed over this recipe. However, I am glad I did not! An avid grapefruit eater I wanted to find a nice bread recipe that was not only easy to make but really captured the taste. This recipe does! I did change a couple things for my own taste (an extra egg, some grapefruit zest, replaced one cup of flour with .5 cup of sugar and .5 cup of brown sugar).. the result is a brightly flavoured favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States