Oatmeal Grapefruit Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
We made some edits for a sweeter and more recognizable grapefruit taste: 1/2 cup honey, 2 eggs, 2 cups oats, and 1/2 cup butter. We also added 1/2 cup brown sugar and ~2 tablespoons of grapefruit zest. We used locally grown Ruby Red grapefruit. We baked the bread in small loaf pans for about 30 minutes, and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iskashitaa Refugee Network
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, using grapefruit juice from our homegrown grapefruit. I did baste the top with juice a couple of times during the last 20 minutes of baking. The bread is a bit dense, and dry near the edges, but the flavor is nice. I plan to have a piece as breakfast with some fresh fruit and yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
EXTREMELY dry -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Did not find it "zingy" at all. Will find some other way to use my grapefruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I had the same problem, was very dry, and crumbly. no grapefruit taste. I tried it a second time add zest, brown sugar, and shortening. no better, the zest made it taste like the peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Four stars with revisions (I don't think I would even try to make the original version.). I took clues from others and changed this recipe quite a bit. Used 2 cups of flour instead of 3, used 2 eggs instead of 1. Whipped 1/3 c. honey, 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup white sugar with 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/4. Added vanilla and cinnamon. Left out the walnuts (didn't have) and mixed chopped pecans with pure maple syrup and raw sugar and sprinkled on top. Baked in 9x13 glass pan instead of loaf. Brought it to work and the guys loved it. We have so many grapefruits here in Phoenix this time of year, I will definitely make it again (with my revisions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The outside of this bread was so hard I had trouble biting through some parts of it. The inside was too soft, and was only saved by a few minutes in the toaster oven. The bitter aftertaste of the grapefruit ruined a pretty decent initial flavor. I made a juice icing with powdered sugar, but even that couldn't save it. It might have been better in muffin form as it would have been more evenly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meandering Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Overall I was satisfied with this bread. I found it to be moist and a good density. I did not have enough grapefruit juice so I added some lemon and a little sugar to compensate. I think some zest would go a long way to make this taste better while adding some zing to it, something it is lacking. The top did start to get dark while the rest was still very moist, but in the end, it was good. I will try it again with orange as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
One big problem with this is that it doesn't even remotely taste of grapefruit. The zest of a whole grapefruit would definitely help. It wouldn't help though with the fact that the bread is far too dense, and that the inside takes 20 minutes longer to cook than the outside, leaving the outside dry and a bit crunchy. I will never ever make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asmyr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I think that the concept is great but like everyone that has rated this, changes are necessary for any success. I will not make this again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States