Oatmeal Dried Fruit Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This is a great, healthy recipe! It is difficult to mix, though, because of how few wet ingredients there are. The dough ends up very stiff, and I was mixing with my hands to finish it. They are a big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I tried it with dried cherries, chopped; added chocolate chips and some toasted coconut that my husband had left over from muffin baking. Salt and sugar was balanced well but I'd use a little less nutmeg because its a strong spice. The mix wasn't dry at all, I think the other reviews must not have put the right amount of butter or they didn't gradually at dry ingredients because I found it very creamy. Will definatley try again and add nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I made these for Easter, and instead of using dried fruit, I used Jordan almonds from my local candy shoppe, which are almonds with pastel colored candy coatings. Also, I just made them last week with dried strawberries, white chocolate chips, and strawberry extract instead of the vanilla. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These cookies came out moist and tasty. I used butter and margarine combined. I only needed to bake them for 8 minutes on convection 350' (375' standard). I used a variety of diced, dried fruit. Next time I will add nuts for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is the best oatmeal cookie I've ever eaten - no contest! I used a dried berry mix (cherries, blueberries & raspberries) for the fruit, and was generous with the spices. Otherwise, exact quantities. I did not find the batter dry at all - I used a Kenmore stand mixer and was careful to add everything in slowly and mixed extensively. The butter was softened too, which may be the key. These cookies, fresh out of the oven, are unbelievably good - just the right amount of salt, chewy but not gluey, melt in your mouth. The only real change was that mine had to bake for an extra 5 minutes or so (15 total), but keep a close eye - these would not be nice over-done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great Recipe! Reading the review complaints about dough being dry and hard to handle, you must have done something wrong, this recipe is perfect, try them again and put on your glasses:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Oh boy! These are great! Bursting with flavor, chewey & yum! I doubled the recipie and ran out of butter so used 1C butter & 1 1/2 C butter flavor shortening. Added cranberries & walnuts and just realized that I forgot the vanilla! Still! they were great! Don't listen to the dry reviews below, don't know what they'er talking about! Will absoulutly be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Yummy! Very moist! Used my stand mixer and didn't overmix. Add both dried fruit and chocolate chips. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
have made these over and over and will continue to make them. everyone loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail G Sousa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
very dry!!! the dough is very stiff and dry!! The cookies dont even look like cookies when cooked. I guess it can be used at ice cream topping instead! My family was disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States