Oatmeal Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
These turned out wonderful. I substituted some whole wheat flour for the white flour to make them a little healthier. They were very soft and moist. My boyfriend and I ate them up in less than 1 day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Very easy to make. I whipped these up the night before and let them rise overnight in the refrigerator after forming the rolls. My kids said these were the best rolls I've ever made. I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
These have to be the best rolls I've ever tasted! The recipe is simple to follow and the rolls turn out perfect. My family and I love them! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Wow! My sis-in-law wanted to "raise the bar" of her Thanksgiving bash and have it be a little more Martha Stewart. Oh no. I looked around for a new roll recipe and tried this one. These were so darn fab! They are heavy and soft and were very popular. There were no leftovers to be found! I've also given platefuls of these as thank you gifts. I always make a double batch which fits perfectly into three 13x9 pans. I like the overnight idea someone mentioned and the wheat flour idea. I'll try them both! Oh, and these are easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
These rolls were great! This recipe could easily make 50 rolls, just make the balls 1" in diameter, rather than 1 1/2". I used 3 c. bread flour and 1 c. whole wheat flour rather than 4 c. all-purpose flour and they were excellent. You could not taste the oatmeal at all but they were very moist. When kneading the bread I ended up adding probably about 1 c. of flour in order that the dough would not be as sticky to work with. Will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I made a bread that outshone the dinner before this one! Wow, they were delicious. Very heavy and yeasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerset

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I thought these were really good but a little too chewy and doughy on the bottom for us. I think I am going to lower the oven temp and bake these longer to achieve the perfect rolls for my familys tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
Absolutely fabulous! My entire family loved these rolls. Try them with honey butter and they are even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
i donot like bread at all but these rolls r the best i have ever tasted. my kids love rolls so i mades them these. i sub so ingredients i i was missing. i add bread flour for the all-purpose flour, i was missing the brown sugar so i put 1/2 cup of honey and 1/3 cup of white suger which makes these the best i have ever taste. i can said i like bread now. these taste better then my mothers-n-laws roll. ps don't tell her please
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMIFTHY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This is a keeper, soft and light. Makes a boatload of rolls. Made the dough in the bread machine, and it mushroomed out of the top! They were still quite good a day or two after baking. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States