Oatmeal Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
hot and steamy rolls, but very moist dough, needing 1/2 to 1 cup additional flour. I used bread flour. Had a strong yeasty flavor that might benefit from the addition of herbs. But otherwise, a good bread to go along with traditional American cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This is the best bread recipe. I made these for the first time on Thanksgiving. They are great on their own but magical with the Honey Butter recipe on this site. My 9 year old nephew ate 5. I have already made them twice this week for coworkers and they have been requested at the family dinner on Sunday. I used regular oats (all I had on hand)and cooked them an extra minute and sifted all my dry ingredients together. The last time I made them I only used a tablespoon of butter and there was no change. No eggs, no oil, minimal butter - THANK YOU SOUTHERN LIVING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
My boyfriend made these to go with our Thanksgiving meal. We didn't change any of the ingredients. He said that they were more trouble than they were worth making. The flavor was good, but they were a bit heavy, maybe too heavy for such a large meal. I don't think we'll be doing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
this is such a wonderful flavorful recipe for rolls i have ever had. it was so good that after making rolls i made 2 bread loaves and used the bread for french toast, which was a huge hit with my family. i would recomend this recipe to anyone. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I can halt my search -- these are the PERFECT dinner rolls. Holy cow, the are amazing. No modifications to the recipe...followed the recipe to the letter and they were fantastic!! I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
I made these for the first time tonight and served them to guests. Everyone loved them, including me! My dough was very wet so I had to incorporate 1/2 - 1 cup more flour when I kneaded it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I made this in a 9 x 5 pan instead of making dinner rolls. I baked it at 375 for about 33 minutes. I used half whole wheat flour, 2 T. of gluten, and 2 T. of dry milk powder. I think the bread should have more salt, maybe 1 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Theses rolls were absolutely delicious! I made them exactly as the instructions stated & they came out beautifully. My three kids wolfed them too, always a plus with a new recipe. Will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Excellent flavor and texture. These rolls are truly "restaurant quality."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I made these for 4th of July...they had a nice dense texture that went great with barbeque and baked beans. I made them larger than the recommended size, but just lowered oven temp to 300 F and kept them in for 30 minutes instead of 15. They are great the next morning with homemade butter and applebutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States