Oatmeal Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
YUM. My family's favorite dinner roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
These were good rolls! I made half a batch and got 16 rolls. The only change is that I used old-fashioned oats instead of quick oats and just cooked them a little longer. Next time I'll bake them for an extra couple of minutes or let them rise a little longer the second time to ensure that the insides aren't doughy. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
These are even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These were fantastic. I just finished a test batch before making these to contribute to a dinner party. Like others I used old-fashioned oats and cooked longer and used the dough hook on my mixer for 4 minutes and then finished kneading by hand. I rolled each 1/2 of the dough into a rectangle with a pin and then rolled up the dough into a log before cutting into 16 pieces. I shaped into balls by gently stretching and tucking the dough to avoid over-warming and over-working it. (Perhaps this may help some who had difficulty with the texture of the finished product.) These will be made on a regular basis in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
About 10 years ago I wanted to make homemade rolls for thanksgiving. I failed horribly. I tried again this year with these...and they were wonderful. SO easy and so good. I used half wheat floor, and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I like the idea of this recipe, and the rolls looked beautiful, but they weren't done in the middle. I am not sure what I did wrong, and would be willing to try this recipe again. I love the fact that they have oatmeal in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This recipe was easy, and the results were excellent. I halved the recipe and instead of kneading by hand, I used my mixer with the dough hook for 5 minutes. I used old fashioned oats and cooked them for @ 3 minutes. No one could believe they had oatmeal in them. Will make again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Very yummy and easy to make! I've never made yeast rolls before and had no problem with this recipe. I followed it exactly and had a perfect batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I used old fashioned oats instead of quick cooking, i just cooked them a little bit longer. The rolls came out so chewy and tender, I have replaced my old dinner rolls recipe with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I just pulled these out of the oven and they are great! Very moist and dense and great with a touch of honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States