Oatmeal Date Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
These were sooo good! I had to sub 3/4 cup of butter for the shortening and pecans for walnuts but these cookies were awesome. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
As I'm getting ready to make a triple batch of this for Christmas, I figured I ought to rate it! I downloaded this a couple years ago, and have been using it ever since. My mom doesn't want any other kind of cookie! She doesn't like chocolate so it makes it hard to find something she likes. The recipe is very easy to make, the cookies freeze well. And they are very, very tasty! The dates make it a nicer cookie than raisins, which can be a little tart or bitter sometimes. Great just out of the oven or a couple days later, these are a permanent addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This is a delicious cookie recipe. I've made these cookies twice in the last two weeks because they disappear so quickly. The only change I made was to add an additional half cup of dates. We're date lovers and the extra helping made them extra soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I doubled the recipe before printing it out. According to the recipe it should have made 48 cookies, 4 dozen. I got 11 dozen using a small cookie scoop per it calling for dropping by the teaspoon. Very good cookie and because I had so many, I sold them by the dozen to friends who also loved them. Would be great to make for bake sales or gifts. Can't imagine how big the cookies would be were there only 48. I baked 12 to a cookie sheet. They also took 10 - 12 minutes in my oven but that could very according to each over and perhaps between electric and gas, I have gas. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Mmmmmmm, so good! I used butter instead of shortening and they were so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Loved this recipe! I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon and increased nuts to 1 cup to suit our tastes. Just wish these cookies were low-cal because I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
Good recipe--some family members actually thought the dates were chocolate chips! Great flavor--a lifetime addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This recipe is a nice 'traditional' oatmeal cookie; but it does need to bake longer than 8 minutes. In my oven, they needed a minimum of 10 minutes. Also, I did not use the dates; instead, I used dried cherries. Next time I will try the dates. I think the recipe also needs some cinnamon or some other spice to jazz it up some. All in all though a good recipe. Mine have maintained softness days later in a plastic container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This is a delicious, soft chewy cookie- a permanent addition, will make again and again- I am going to try it with chocolate chips instead of dates, too...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These cookies are good - but a little "cakey" for my taste. I substituted apple sauce for the shortening, and added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon as other reviewers suggested. If I were to make again, I'd use one less egg to make it less cake like, and would add more dates as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States