Oatmeal Date Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These cookies are easy to make. I found them very tricky to get baked right. They tend to get too done on the bottom while remaining doughy in the middle. I tried lowering the oven temp and baking longer, and also making smaller cookies -- with no better results. I "rescued" the cookies by using a grater to remove the overdone bottoms. The cookies are a bit bland, fair for oatmeal cookies. The dates are a nice variation and add a pleasant flavor, but I have to give these cookies only a 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Peacenik

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheatland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These cookies are awesome. I used butter instead of crisco, and pecans instead of walnuts and this turned out really good. Very unique and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, in my opinion. I made it exactly as written, except I used pecans instead of walnuts. I was looking for a recipe to use up some extra dates I had in the freezer, and these cookies were just perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and used 1 extra large egg, so my cookies came out crispy which is fine because I like crispy cookies. A few of them had a slightly soft center but for the most part they were crispy. I may try to make the recipe just the way it says because I do like a soft date cookie as well. These were sweet enough for me. Would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made these this afternoon. They are definitely soft, in fact, in texture more like cake. I attribute this to the three eggs. If I make this recipe again (and I might, the taste is excellent!) I'd make it with two eggs only. (I also used all brown sugar, but that was by accident!) Be very careful with the time--I cut it down to 7 minutes so the cookies wouldn't be golden brown, but lightly browned and done all the way through (this was at 375).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Dorothy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I love these cookies. I had a very large bag of fresh dates, and searched for a new recipe to try. These are very soft and taste great. Easy to prepare, and well worth trying. I put half the batch in the freezer, and they even taste great straight out of the freezer. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraSem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, except I lowered the oven temperature by 5 degrees F. to compensate for our new faster cooking oven. They "almost" burned on the bottom and did not really brown as well on top as I would like. Stick to the 8 minutes! They were so soft, sweet and yummy that I will make them again and add to my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Artiste

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winkelman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Mmmmm...cookies... I wouldn't change a thing, except maybe to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
These were sooo good! I had to sub 3/4 cup of butter for the shortening and pecans for walnuts but these cookies were awesome. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Mmmmmmm, so good! I used butter instead of shortening and they were so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States