Oatmeal Date Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
So yummy and filling! I tried the recipe as written (very good), and then made my own adjustments...tripled the fruit mixture..with the exception of the sugar (used raw organic cane sugar), I used dried cranberries along with the dates. In the oat mixture, I used whole wheat flour, also I used whole egg, and added about 1/2c peanut butter..I had to add an additional 1/2c oats to make it manageable. Over the fruit layer, I sprinkled a finely chopped apple. Over the top of it all, I sprinkled what I had left of a box of pumpkin granola and drizzled it with honey. These have evolved way past ordinary oatmeal and date bars...my family loves these! I eat a big piece for breakfast and it keeps me going all morning long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BecciB
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Amazing!!! I did make some small changes, but not because I thought I could improve it. I'm sure the recipe as written would be 5 stars as well. I was looking for a way to use up some dried figs and figured they would work instead of dates. I followed the advice of some reviewers and omitted the sugar when cooking the figs and didn't miss the sweetness. If anything, the bars were maybe bordering on a little too sweet (don't know if that's a fig vs date difference) and next time I'll try reducing the sugar a little. I also used almond flour for 1/3 of the flour because I was trying to use up some of that as well. I used a whole egg instead of an egg white, because I hate being left with random yolks that I never find a way to use. Because of that, I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup. I just can't rave enough about the bars, and I am too embarrassed to admit how quickly they were eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
These are a great treat for everyone in the family!! I wouldn't change anything about them. They were super simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Their really good but so sweet I can barely have more than just a bite. I think next time I will omit the sugar in the date mixture (dates are sweet enough as it is) And only use half the brown sugar for the outer layers. Oh and I added an extra 1/4c of butter as it wouldn't hold together. All in all YUM, the kids especially loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sita Dumma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Pretty good considering how little butter goes in these squares. On top of that for the crust I've used half applesauce half butter and only 1/2C of sugar, and added 1/2C of coconut (next time I will put 1C since I can't really taste the coconut at all). I also added orange zest + juice to the date mixture (omitted sugar). Before I put it in the oven I sprinkled some cinnamon on top but still a little bland. And I will definitely use more than 1 C of dates next time since I want there to be more filling.. :-) If you are willing to sacrifice the texture and all that buttery taste for your health(I AM!), this is the right recipe for you! Oh, and I used the entire egg (too lazy to separate) and the crust wasn't dry AT ALL. The taste is much better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I tried this for the first time a few months ago and ever since then, there is PANIC in the house when they are gone! Yummy and chewy delicious! I don't think they are too sweet. I double the recipe, use one whole egg and add about 1/4 c. orange juice. I put half in the freezer so at least I'm not having to make them twice a week! They are in the oven right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
not enough dates, so i double it, great now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Not good. With a little more effort I could have made oatmeal cookies with dates. I'm sure that would have been a much better use of the ingredients I feel I wasted on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I thought this was delicious! I don't love dates, but this was good. I think I might try it next time with a different filling because the crust was just so good. I added coconut and walnuts and followed the advice of another reviewer and used 2 cups of oats and the whole egg (it was just easier that way). Anyway, this is great! Oh...I also agree that you don't really need the sugar in the filling. It was super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Fantastic! I made the recipe exactly as written and these were perfect. I have been searching for years to find a recipe just like my Mom's for date bars and this is the closest I've found. I ate the entire pan in 3 days. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States