Oatmeal-Currant Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Yum, very tender! I used 2 c whole wheat pastry flour and 1 c white flour for this recipe. I added walnuts. I followed the advice from another reviewer who noted that I don't need to grind the oats. These scones are not very sweet at all, so always include the currants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is a reliable and delicious recipe. I add chopped nuts and orange rind and I have sprinkled granulated sugar on top. I make the scone smaller than 1/16th of the dough - and I roll them relatively thin - but not too thin. I always use dried cranberries, and will try blueberries one of these days since I am from Maine! This is a delightful scone - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were super dry and boring. I used chocolate chips instead of the OJ/water/currant combination because another reviewer said she just switched out that ingredient easily, but the end result was pretty tasteless. I gave it two stars instead of only one because my allergy-ridden son enjoyed them, but he rarely is able to eat desserts, so he doesn't know what a scone is supposed to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
We enjoyed these scones however they were not the best ones we have tried. I think that I would increase the sugar or use honey when I bake them again because they were not sweet at all. The dough was quite sticky and I was happy that I made them the night before I was to bake them so that they were able to set up again. They took 7 minutes longer in my oven but that may have been because I took them out of the fridge just before putting them in the oven. All in all it was a good basic recipe to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I made these for the first time the morning of a church bake sale. The scones were a hit and all of them sold. Being mindful of other reviewers' comments about the stickiness of the dough, I added a little less milk than called for and the resulting dough was easy enough to work with. I used 1/2 sweetened, dried cranberries and 1/2 chopped dried apricots instead of currents and used a wonderful whole cane sugar instead of white sugar. I also added a capful of orange extract and I used salted butter because it was what I had on hand and besides I like the flavor of a little salt in my baked goods. I cut them in slightly smaller scones and baked them for 15 minutes. I tend to like my scones on the less sweet side and I liked these, but they probably would have still been fine with another tablespoon of sugar. They were a tad dry, but maybe wouldn't have been if I'd used all the milk called for. Overall, a good recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I honestly had no idea what to expect from scones. Despite having jumped the pond twice when I was younger, I never once tasted a scone, but always wanted to. The end result of this recipe was a batch of tender, tasty scones. I did have to modify the recipe, however. Made as stated, the dough would be impossible to form into a ball. It's far too soft, more like a batter. I added enough flour to make a soft dough, then formed it into two balls instead of one. I followed the directions from there, but did have to increase the baking time. If I make these again, I will form the dough into 4 balls and flatten to 3/4 inch or so to make smaller scones. Mine were quite large. They were a hit at work, served up with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
These are quite light. Ours came out so sticky that we had to make "drop scones" but they were fine. I think it is better to overbake than underbake as the crispy outside is the best part! If using orange juice, I would also add a little more orange flavor with zest or extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I used whole wheat flour instead of the white flour, and honey in place of the sugar. These are light and tasty! I also added some cinnamon, which meant that they smelled good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I has never baked scones before and started with this recipe..everyone in my family loved it. I did not get it into a good dough consistency but I just took the sticky mixture, made random shapes and baked it...turned out delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States