Oatmeal Crispies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
My grandma made these for years and they are a favorite! We keep the batter in the freezer for a few hours and bake at 400. They are always crispy, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I only substituted coconut for the nuts as I didn't have any. They turned out great. Baked for 11 min and they were perfect. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Light and chewy, with a lot of texture. I added a little cinnamon and a package of cinnamon chips and omitted the walnuts. I made these as drop cookies using a medium cookie scoop, flattening them slightly, and baking about 9-10 minutes at 375 degrees. Good old-fashioned cookie jar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this the first time at Christmas time because my oldest son doesn't like raisins in his oatmeal cookies....He and everyone else loved them. He is coming home from college today for spring break and I thought about this recipe and pulled it up again to make. I just finished the last batch and did some different things this time...like one batch without the nuts....couple of batches w pecans...and then I threw in some peanut butter chips and dried cranberries in the last couple of batches - with the remaining dough with pecans in it...oh I forgot to mention I doubled the recipe because it was such a hit the last time....the last batch with the dried cranberries and peanut butter chips and pecans tasted kinda like a granola bar....very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
OMG! This is the best ever oatmeal cookie recipe I have ever made (stated by my husband). A keeper! Melissa J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I put in a half cup of butter and a third cup of peanut oil. I pressed them down with my fingers. The raw dough was a bit crumbly. The cookies baked for 12 minutes at 350. The cookies were flat and crispy when cool. The probably would have been better with some chocolate chips added in. I am not sure I will make them again. If I do, I will just chill the bowl of dough and make drop cookies instead of the way the recipe suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
SERIOUSLY amazing cookies. We didn't have any nuts in the house so we went straight oatmeal and everyone who's tried one has the same thing to say about them, the BEST oatmeal cookie they've ever had. This is going in the archives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
These were quite tasty & CRISPY. (I did flatten them to 1/4" thick using a greased spatula & baked them 12 minutes.) OK, all of you who said they came out chewy, admit you used all margarine or butter instead of shortening. The reason it makes such a big difference is that margarine & butter have some water in them, and shortening doesn't. The exception is special European-style butter which has much of the water squeezed out so it cooks more predictably. You can find it at upscale supermarkets and gourmet stores. The only change I made was to add 2/3 cup of raisins. Unlike most cookie recipes, these did not come out too sweet for me using the full amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I love this recipe-it has been lost from my files, and I was glad to find it here. it is a 5 star oatmeal cookie with a butterscotch taste to it. My recipe included 1/2 cup of coconut, so I reduced the sugar in this recipe by 1/3 cup and added the coconut. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States