Oatmeal Cranberry White Chocolate Chunk Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I've made 2 batches in a week. I added 2 tablespoon of vanilla and about 1 tsp of cinnamon. I made half the batch with about 1/4 cup of walnuts.They are not real sweet which I like. They are best right out of the oven while they are still warm and the white chocolate is still melted.Ummmm! My husband loves them as well as my 1 1/2 year old. I made half the batch without walnuts for them. I am a nut person so I think they are best with the walnuts added. I made these last night for family members and everyone raved over these cookies. They all wanted the ones with the walnuts. I got this recipe the first time from the back of the dried cranberry package. It was thrown away not knowing what a hit they would be, so I went online and found this. I'm saving it this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarahiswright
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I'm impressed! A very tasty combination of flavors. I added 3/4 c. pecans and 2 tsp. vanilla as others suggested, and they were great. The dough wasn't very sweet and I almost added more sugar, but after adding the white chocolate chips it was the perfect amount of sweetness. This one is unique, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I added the vanilla as other reviewers suggested but still thought the batter was missing something. I added abt 1/2 tsp orange flavoring and that was it! It was enough to "wake up" the cookie base and was a great compliment to the cranberry and chocolate. I also added 1 c pecan pieces for crunch. These freeze and travel well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These cookies are great! I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and half white and they still had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Very good! I subbed semi-sweet chips and used margarine, and added 2 tsp. of vanilla to each batch. I made bigger cookies (heaping spoonfuls) and doubled the recipe, and I think I came out with about 3 and a half dozen. Well received both at home and at a party I brought them to. Will probably make again, since I like the brown sugar in place of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Oh my goodness are these GOOD! But to be fair I did bake these according to the other raters suggestions. I added vanilla, used fresh cranberries (as I had those on hand), was out of flour (or I would have used whole wheat) so I used self rising (all I had), and I did flatten out the cookies before I baked them. I am also a nut lover, so next time I make these, and I will, I will throw in some chopped nuts. Oh, I also got 3 1/2 dozen from this batch, maybe I made them smaller than they need be, but I didn't want them baking too close together....and I did cut back on the baking time...9-10 minutes. Yummy!! Please give these a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Without a doubt, these are my FAVORITE cookies EVER! I love that they use less butter and sugar than typical cookies yet in taste, you would have no idea. As if that isn't enough the recipe actually yields exactly what it says it will. A MUST try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
These cookies did need the added vanilla. I also used fresh cranberries, and found that cooking them for 12 minutes was too much--8 minutes was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Lightly sweet and very tasty. I added a shot of vanilla to help round things out. Like other reviewers say, these cookies are fairly lumpy and don't flatten out in the oven. If you want a more traditional cookie shape, flatten them out by hand before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I really expected these cookies to be better, given the indgredients. They tasted fine (not wonderful) but were kind of crumbly and lumpy-looking. They taste better than they look though. I was going to add some vanilla like other reviewers suggested but forgot. That probably would have helped. I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States