Oatmeal Cookies Light Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Just too much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Strangely wonderful flat oatmeal cookies! Modify: I did a half recipe, used real butter softened but not melted and cut into small pieces, add little more flour- I added 1/8 cup for a half recipe, added quarter cup choco chips, quarter cup chopped walnuts. WHAT WORKED FOR ME; cook a bit longer, like 8 mins, then turn off oven and let them continue cooking 4-5. Take them out, and give them a couple of minutes still on the pan. Use a firm spatula, give a nudge at edges, it will be slightly soft, but as long as they don't fall apart, you're good. Don't put them on a rack, put them on a cold plate. Don't stack 'em. After they cool a bit, put on rack. Now, I can't say for sure all this is necessary, but it makes awesome cookies this way. They are airy, almost lacy, delicious oatmeal. Oh, and I added a few shakes of cinnamon to batter. Kind of a pain in the as$ but it went so quickly that it's worth it. I've made twice, love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I did not change the recipe at all when I baked these cookies, they turned out flat as pancakes, I did not like them at all, but my boyfriend did (but he`ll eat almost anything) The only reason I gave this recipe 2 stars is because despite being flat like crackers they did actually stay pretty moist in the center of the cookies. I was not a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwibear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These cookies did not turn out at all. It was the best tasting dough ever, but ended up melting into one giant pan sized cookie. They were very thin and burnt on the bottom after only 6 minutes in the oven :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
These were easy and delish..I used about 3 heaping tablespoons of earth balance butter and about 1/4 cup peanut butter. I also used only 2 cups oats, which made them hold up well compared to the other reviews. I also folded in 1/4 cup chocolate chips. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Combing suggestions from a couple of reviews I was able to still retain the "light" aspect of the recipe and create a wonderfully moist and flavourbable treat! This will be a regular recipe in my house. What did I do? Substituded the 1 1/4 cups reduced fat margarine with 2/3 cup reduced fat margaine and 2/3 cup sugar free apple sauce. I also substitued the 1/2 cup white sugar and 3/4 cup brown sugar for 1 2/2 cups Splenda and 1 Tbsp honey. I doubled the egg whites because of the Splenda and used 1/2 Tbsp of vanilla. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Alright, First off there is no doubt these are great tasting! However, I agree with other reviews, they fall apart. Actually... They don't keep any form what so ever. My husband and I agree that it is a rich and delicious flavor. Which would make a better topping for ice cream, possibly formed into balls after baking and dipped in chocolate. I added 1/2 cup of raw sunflower seeds and 1/2 cup craisins. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefCharlette
Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I also added a bit more flour to hold these together. Good cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe as is and for the most part they were ok they fell apart which made them hard to eat. They tasted a little too buttery to me but not to sweet. so all in all they were just ok. probaby wont make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I was not impressed with the outcome of this recipe. They fell apart!!! I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annmarie
Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States