Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Very good. Taste alot like cereal bars but better. I used butter flavored Crisco and added a little cinnamon to the oatmeal mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was great. My husband asks for them on a weekly basis. One note, press down slightly on the top layer of oatmeal...tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Too sweet, and not a good flavor - not sure dates should be part of most oatmeal bar/cookie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I gave this five stars in that it is a quite versatile recipe. I have boiled up raisins in half water and half lemon juice. I added 1/2 tablespoon corntarch mixed with 2 tablespoons of water to the fruit, to thicken it. I have also used dried apricots and/or an assortment of dried fruits that I put in the food processor to chop up. I boiled these in orange juice (no water). In the oatmeal mixture, I added 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg, just to give it a little more flavor. Another filling is Cranraisins and dried apples boiled in apple juice. I am sure that others will come up with many other varitions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
very good. I might try them with butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very good. My boyfriend loved them. One of the other reviewers wrote that these are "too sweet". The pastry part actually isn't that sweet, it's the date filling. So if you don't like sweet, just spread on a thinner layer of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
These Oatmeal Cookie Bars are awesome! I made a few substitutions: I didn't have dates so I used raisins (but I'm going to make sure I have dates on hand the next time I make these); I replaced the white sugar with Splenda and the brown sugar with Splenda brown sugar blend to cut down on some of the sugar and calories; I used butter instead of shortening. I also added a teaspoon of ground cinnamon to the pastry and half a teaspoon to the filling. The resulting bars were so buttery and cinnamony good it was hard to stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryp539

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Wow, these were good, I really didn't think I'd like them or my family, but it was a winner for us. didn't use dates, didn't have any. Uses raisins instead. otherwise I followed the recipe! (not too common for me) Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Witness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These bars are excellent. I didn't have quite enough dates, only about 1 3/4 cup. As a replacement I used some chopped prunes for the remaining 3/4 cup. I had a Meyer lemon and used the juice from that and also simmered the squeezed lemon halves in the date mixture for a more lemony flavor. I also added a little cinnamon to the the mixture, only about a half a tsp. I followed the recipe exactly the same after that and was very pleased with the result. It does seem that any favorite dried fruit would work with this recipe and I look forward to trying out different combinations as well as the original all date recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very easy and yummy! Kraft has little caramel nuggets already unwrapped which made this recipe even easier! I will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIESHAUL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States