Oatmeal Cookie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
its so delicious.............eve my siblings loved to eat it everytime I bake... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra Cena Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Excellent recipe. I was hesitant to put in the lemon juice but glad i did. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved these cookie bars. I added a pinch of cloves to the date mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Made these today,used dried cranberries as that's what I had on hand. Turned out GREAT,MY 11&13 yr old ate almost half of them before they cooled!!!!! Thanks for the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
My Family calls this treat a 'Date Square' - Made it many many times in my Mom's kitchen growing up. This recipe is similar to Mom's. We use orange juice or orange juice concentrate where this recipe calls for lemon juice and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I used figs instead of dates and I love figs and oats so I love these. I also added flaxseed meal (about 3 T), wheat germ (maybe 4 T) and around a t of cinnamon, 1/8 t cloves and 1/8 t fresh ground nutmeg to the pastry for a crunchier, more cohesive flavor. I like the salt in the pastry but think a dash under 1/2 t would be better. I also used 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening to pump up the richness. I can't wait for this batch to cool! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
A nice basic date bar recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very easy and yummy! Kraft has little caramel nuggets already unwrapped which made this recipe even easier! I will definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIESHAUL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
These bars are excellent. I didn't have quite enough dates, only about 1 3/4 cup. As a replacement I used some chopped prunes for the remaining 3/4 cup. I had a Meyer lemon and used the juice from that and also simmered the squeezed lemon halves in the date mixture for a more lemony flavor. I also added a little cinnamon to the the mixture, only about a half a tsp. I followed the recipe exactly the same after that and was very pleased with the result. It does seem that any favorite dried fruit would work with this recipe and I look forward to trying out different combinations as well as the original all date recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Wow, these were good, I really didn't think I'd like them or my family, but it was a winner for us. didn't use dates, didn't have any. Uses raisins instead. otherwise I followed the recipe! (not too common for me) Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Witness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States