Oatmeal Cocoa Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These were good, but a little too messy, they didn't harden very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I used 1 cup of coconut and also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla as this is what my mom did when I was a child. They are so gooey good. All those people saying they won't stay together are boiling for too long! Cut back on boiling time and you will LOVE these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
THESE WERE GOOOOOOOODDD!!! I took the advice of others and substituted 3/4 cup of butter. I also added 3/4 cup of coconut as I am a big fan. In addition I added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts and used the splenda-sugar mix. (which did leave a slight aftertaste, but not bad) I will DEFINATELY make these again. They are moist and chewy and chocolatey..YUM...Next time I will get almonds and try them......Great Recipe..Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Quick and easy recipe. I substituted Splenda for the sugar as that's what I bake with and the end result was okay. I think I was expecting something more after reading the reviews. Nice one to have to make in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Mcnicoll, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vaughan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
The flavour was good however they were so dry that I couldn't even keep them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Just like when I was a kid and my Grandma would make them. I too substituted 3/4cup margarine for the 1/2cup shortening. I also used 1cup coconut. These are absolutely perfect! Soft and chewy and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Excellent rendition of a classic! I took some of the reviewers suggestions and added my own twist... replaced shortening with butter, added 1/4 c shortening, used TWO cups coconut! Also, would add almonds next time for a true "almond joy" experience! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Delicious! I used 3/4 cup margarine instead of shortening and 1/2 cup evap. milk instead of milk. This gave them an extra burst of fudge flavour and were a big hit at work! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
These look like cookies but they taste like candy. They were very easy to make and turned out pretty good. After reading the previous reviews I decided to replace the 1/2-cup shortening with 3/4-cup butter. I also added walnuts which were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
These are great! I too substituted the shortening with 3/4 cup margarine. My kids are allergic to peanut butter, which so many non-bake cookies have, so I am happy to have this recipe. Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States