Oatmeal Cocoa Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I am not a huge fan of macaroons but my husband just loved these (and he is not a chocolate fan) Plus they won me 3rd place (out of about 40 entries) in a baking contest. Great cookie, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
i always go online to find recieps but never find what i am lookingfor, well today i found 2 most fav recieps i always used came from my mother one being maccaroons i was so excited there perfect chewy and if u like peannut butter u can add 1/2 cup to a cup to this reciepe and have peanut butter maccaroons and they are good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I followed others' recommendations in exchanging shortening for butter and adding 1/4 cup and doubling the coconut. I started eating it right out of the pan while it was still warm! Talk about delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I have used this recipe for 25 yrs, but I use 1 cup coconut, add 1 tsp vanilla and pinch of salt, I also use only 6 tbsp of cocoa and never put nuts in it. My family love these can't keep them in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Great recipe. My family loved the cookies. Increased butter and coconut as suggested by other reviewers. This is a keeper for an easy sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Took others suggestions and changed to 3/4 c. butter, and 1 c. of coconut... I also used 1/4 c. of chocolate chips, and only 1/4 c. of cocoa. They were perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I've been purchasing these at a gourmet cafe every couple of months, and paying $3 a pop! Who knew they were so EASY to make at home? As some of the others suggested, I added another 1/2 cup of coconut, as well as another 1/2 cup of butter. I was sure to only them boil for two minutes, and they worked like a charm. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura-Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Worked with grade 10s in a cooking class! That's the true measure of a recipe. We garnished this with marichino cherry pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I needed a no bake cookie recipe that didn't use peanut butter and am so glad that I found this one! I used butter instead of shortening and doubled the coconut. These are yummy and oh so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
When I decided I was going to make these a few days ago, I read the reviews and was going to adjust like some said, but today I forgot. Still yummy, but I should have use 1 c coconut as I really like coconut and I am making them for a Hawaiian themed pot luck. They have been in the fridge 30 mins and I am wondering if they will be too sticky to bring with me. I hope not! (but honestly if they are, oh well, they taste so good they won't last too long here.) I didn't have enough cookies sheets to make them all at once, so I cleared off the bottom shelf of the fridge and used a board covered with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States