Oatmeal Cocoa Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Kady-June
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
These were very delicious. Exactly what I had in mind when I went hunting for this recipe. I didn't want to use coconut so I just did an extra 1/2 cup of oats in exchange for the coconut, but I think for doing this, they turned out very crumbly and fall apart easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kady-June

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very good cookies! I left out the coconut and added about an extra 1/2 cup of oats. Almost exactly like the cookies I had growing up. Instead of making the normal cookies, I made a giant bunny face that people could break off cookie chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Like others, I used butter instead of shortening and added more coconut, and they were excellent. At least five people at work asked for the recipe. Incredibly simple and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
The first time I made these they came out great. PERFECT. The second time they wouldn't mix properly and all I got was chocolate granola. I believe I boiled the sugar/milk mixture too much. So be careful not to over do it!! My mother tells me to bring it to a boil three times, so I think I'll do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
The first time I made these macaroons,they were incredibly dry but had an awesome taste. Making these the second time, I followed other reviewers advice and substituted butter for shortening (using 3/4 cup), added 1 cup of coconut and only boiling mixture for 1 minute. These turned ot great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Denmark, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These are very good! Quick and easy to make, too. I added extra coconut, used evaporated milk, and included some vanilla as others suggested. My oatmeal was oldfashioned style, not quick oats, and was a bit crunchy, but no one complained. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made a bachelorette's version for the single gal or anyone really with ingredients found more typically in the average kitchen but still needs a quick fix of sugar. I used 3/4 c margaine instead of shortening, quick-cooking oatmeal instead of rolled oats, nestle hot cocoa mix w/ marshmallows instead of unsweetened cocoa, and then subseqeuently reduced sugar (which was just ultra fine, not white) to 1 1/4 c. Turned out great! Oh I also ran out of oatmeal so I threw in Cheerios so it wouldn't be so runny and didn't have any coconut so I didn't use any. :o) Moral: The basic recipe is very good and can be innovated to fit your needs/wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These macaroons have good potential. Definitely needed to reheat the mixture with a little more milk in order to make them stick together better. If I use this recipe again I will be adding more than 3/4 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walpole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
SO GOOD!! I love these! I used a half cup butter and a half cup butter flavored crisco and they set up perfectly. I also used quick cooking oats and they worked great, and I increased the coconut to one full cup. Give theses a try, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These have got to be the best chocolate macaroons I have tasted. Not at all dry....yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States