Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
My daughter and I made these cookies tonight and like a few others mentioned, the recipe needs revised! We improvised and added 2 more cups of oatmeal and 2 more cups of coconut! And a splash of vanilla. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I couldn't find my copy of this so I came here and--tada!--found it. My mom makes these exactly like this except that we always add a tiny bit of vanilla and use margarine vs butter. Otherwise, easy and foolproof...definitely better made a day ahead and refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fujimoto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My recipe I used for years is exactly the same but calls for 3 cups of rolled oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The recipe turned out really good. On a hot day when you are looking for a nice chocolate fix, these fit the bill. I too added 1.5 cups of choc chips instead of the cocoa. I did not boil it for as long as I should have so it was still a little runny but I just threw in a handful of coconut and oatmeal to firm it up and it worked out great. Oh, I also cut the sugar in half since I used mostly sweetened coconut. In the end I ended up making 33 (med cookie scoops) cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I agree with some of the above reviews, that it seems to have a bit too much liquid, also it's a bit too sweet for my taste. So I think that adding a bit extra of oats should take care of both of those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
try boiling the sugar, butter and milk for 1 full minute. This will make base thinker, not so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Gates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was quite yummy! I substituted light coconut milk for regular milk,reduced the sugar by half, used unsweetened coconut flakes instead of shredded coconut, added extra oatmeal to make it more solid, and added cardamon, ground ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg to taste. Very coconutty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used the suggestion about using 3/4 cup of semisweet chocolate morsels instead of the cocoa. 1.5 cup of oatmeal and 3 cups shredded coconut. It made 33 large mounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGICMYSTERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
this recipe brought back a lot of memories. My mom and I used to make them so often. I always added a bit more coconut. We boiled the milk, butter and sugar for 2 minutes. Let it come to a good rolling boil. We stop making them like cookies and just put them in a pan 13X9 makes a thin later. Just another reason to have an extra guilt free piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This recipe needs to be revised. There was way too much liquid to "drop" them onto a cookie sheet. They kinda spread out instead of holding their shape. Needs more oatmeal/coconut or less butter/milk. They should also be cooled to room temperature, and then refrigerated until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miakoda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States