Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I agree with some of the above reviews, that it seems to have a bit too much liquid, also it's a bit too sweet for my taste. So I think that adding a bit extra of oats should take care of both of those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
try boiling the sugar, butter and milk for 1 full minute. This will make base thinker, not so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was quite yummy! I substituted light coconut milk for regular milk,reduced the sugar by half, used unsweetened coconut flakes instead of shredded coconut, added extra oatmeal to make it more solid, and added cardamon, ground ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg to taste. Very coconutty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used the suggestion about using 3/4 cup of semisweet chocolate morsels instead of the cocoa. 1.5 cup of oatmeal and 3 cups shredded coconut. It made 33 large mounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGICMYSTERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
this recipe brought back a lot of memories. My mom and I used to make them so often. I always added a bit more coconut. We boiled the milk, butter and sugar for 2 minutes. Let it come to a good rolling boil. We stop making them like cookies and just put them in a pan 13X9 makes a thin later. Just another reason to have an extra guilt free piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This recipe needs to be revised. There was way too much liquid to "drop" them onto a cookie sheet. They kinda spread out instead of holding their shape. Needs more oatmeal/coconut or less butter/milk. They should also be cooled to room temperature, and then refrigerated until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miakoda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
we used 1.5 cups of chocolate chips instead of cocoa, turned out great!! with a much more chocolate taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Had a pretty good flavor, but there was too much liquid. I added 1/2 cup extra coconut and 1/3 cup extra oats. After that it was good enough consistency to spoon onto the wax paper. Also, I would refrigerate these rather than depend on them to cool enough to serve at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I dropped them in small 2-3 bite sizes and still had 31 of them! This cookie is similar to the no-bake kind with peanut butter in them, but I like them precisely because they aren't made with peanut butter. The coconut flavor really shines in this easy, easy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States