Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
WOW!!! I rarely review recipes I try, but this one by far has been my favorite. The only change I made was to use milk chocolate versus semisweet because that's all I had. I initially used 375 and felt they were a little dark on the edges, so I switched to 350 and baked for 14 minutes. Overall, I love how these cookies are a combination of chewy and crispy. I felt they were sweet, but not too sweet, and had that hint of salt taste you get with a Tollhouse cookie. I also liked how the coconut wasn't overwhelming, especially for those non-coconut lovers (who are you?). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsMarvelous
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The whole family loved these cookies, although I did change up the recipe a bit...I didn't have enough chocolate chips so I added a few tsp of cocoa and I added 1/2 a small bag of butterscotch chips as well. I baked then for 15 min and they turned out quite Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Awesome recipe.... The only thing was I didn't have enough chocolate chips so I did half chocolate chips/half peanut butter chips and they were sooo good! Used about half the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ireen
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Yup great recipe didnt use salt or the brown sugar and kids still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ireen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
These are the best cookies by far! I made a few changes to the recipe by using pecans instead of walnuts (not really a fan of walnuts). I used 1 teaspoon of vanilla and a teaspoon of coconut flavor. Also, I used wheat flour instead. These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe! I only had a stick of butter, and LOVE to bake with coconut oil, so I used a half cup of each. Happy to see the suggestion for using 1 tsp. lemon juice to keep the cookies soft - that def helped. Instead of including nuts, I used 1.5 cups of coconut but only had flakes, so I zapped them in the mini processor for a min. Also only had mini choc chips on hand which were good, but perhaps made the cookies more consistently chocolatey instead of just dots of chocolate. Next time I make these I might try without any chocolate at all and just let the oats and coconut shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerie
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I made them as directed. No substitutions. They were great and very hardy. I couldn't really taste the coconut so I would leave that out next time. Also, this recipe makes way too much cookies. Next time, I will cut the recipe by half. My cookies stuck to cookie sheet so the next batch I used parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Made these twice now and will make again. Excellent cookie. First time with nuts, second time without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I substituted 1 bar of baking white chocolate, chopped; 2 Tablespoons coconut yogurt for the milk; 1/2 cup chopped walnuts & 1/2 cup chopped pecans.I added 1 teasp cinn, 1/2 teasp nutmeg, 1/2 teasp cloves.Baked for 11 min, very good.Usually oatmeal cookies dry and bland, not these.Will make these again & forget the 'other' recipes for oatmeal cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Great cookies. As usual, I used what I had: not enough chocolate chips, so I added craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States