Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is a thousand dollar recipe, I've been looking for something like this for awhile! However, I did make a few modifications to make it more whole grain and wonderfully delicious. I subbed the 1 3/4 cups of flour with 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup oat flour, then cut the 1/2 cup of white sugar to 1/4 cup of white sugar (someone on here thought it was too sweet). I also used only 2.5 cups of rolled oats, as that was all that I had left. Another tip - put your cookie dough in the fridge for 1 hour before you start to bake it and use a small icecream scooper to form the cookies on your cookie sheet. It tasted wonderfully chewy, rich and perfectly sweet. It reminded me of the Double Tree Chocolate Chip cookies they used to give out at their hotel, but better because I used all organic ingredients and absolutely no preservatives. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Greatest cookie recipe ever! I substitute milk chocolate for semi-sweet morsals and use sweetened coconut. Sorry, not a fan of nuts so I leave them out. 12 minutes @ 350 degrees gives them a slightly crispy outside and leaves the inside chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
AWESOME cookies. My husband, who likes crispy cookies, and I, who like 'gooey' cookies, both loved these. Great even without nuts. The coconut added great texture without an over-powering flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These are fantastic cookies. I made 2 slight changes. I sifted the flour/salt/baking soda before adding (using a mesh strainer-easy). Used less sugar to account for sweetened coconut: 1/4 c. white, 1 c. brown sugar. And I ADDED 1 TSP LEMON JUICE so they would be chewy. This gives a nice even texture. You can't taste the lemon at all. These are the best textured oatmeal cookies I've ever had. Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Oh YUM! My new favorite cookie. My only changes: only had 3/4 c butter, so I added 1/4 c shortening, I also added another cup of coconut, and used 1 1/2 c of dark chocolate chips instead of semi sweet. My young boys and I prefer dark over semi-sweet, and also added 3/4 tsp of cinnamon. Then I refriderated for 1 hour. These cookies are hard to mix my hand, but my beautiful BOSCH mixer with cookie paddles made lite work of it. The dough was a little hard to make "stick" together. I rolled 1 1/2 inch dough balls and baked at 350 degrees for 11 min. with the first dozen, then 14 min. with the 2nd dozen. My convection oven is right on target with the lower cooking times with most recipes. The first dz was, I thought, a little undercooked, but turned out fine after it cooled completely. The 2nd dz at 14 min. was better though. They made full (not flat) 2 1/2 - 3 inch cookies. They were rich and flavorful. I saved the other half of the dough in the freezer for later. I may actually cut back on the chocolate chips next time, only b/c a 12 oz bag was more than enough, quantity and richness wise. My sons beg to differ, however. Thanks for this great recipe. My search is over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RouxZQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I added bits of toffee, best cookies ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
These are very hearty cookies! I told a co-worker I would make him any cookie he wanted for his birthday, and he said, "how about oatmeal butterscotch coconut macadamia nut?" I made a few alterations that I think worked out well. Since I already had some sweetened flaked coconut to use, I decided to cut out the white sugar completely from the ingredients since I'd read some reviews earlier saying the cookies were too sweet. Seemed sweet enough to me since in addition to the coconut, I was using a mix of chocolate & butterscotch chips and chopped chocolate-covered macadamia nuts. The only other adjustment I made was to put in a 3/4 cup wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour. This made it a bit heartier of a cookie and hopefully a little healthier. With my first batch, 375 seemed to get the cookies a bit darker than I'd hoped (I like them a little crunchy on the outside and chewy inside), so I started baking for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees (2 pans at a time, switching racks @ 10 minutes) and was happier with the results. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These cookies are chewy, moist and very tasty. I added 1 t. coconut extract and chopped pecans instead of the walnuts. But no kidding, I never make any other cookies anymore. Excellent recipe, it is always a hit whenever I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This is the best oatmeal cookie ever!! The coconut adds a moistness and chewiness that other oatmeal cookies lack. Everyone loves these! I sometimes vary the chips and nuts. White chocolate and macadamia nuts or butterscotch chips and pecans are sure crowd pleasers in addition to the traditional semisweet chocolate and walnuts. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Ok, just made these (eating one now!).. They are incredible. I have an oatmeal raisin cookie addict for a fiancé and have had a hard time finding a truely chewy dough recipe... He took one bite and said "this is it!". I followed the recipe exactly, including allowing the butter to soften just by sitting on the counter. I substituted raisins for the chocolate chips, and added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp each nutmeg and ground cloves. If I could give more than 5 stars I would! They are outstanding. I baked mime for 11 minutes at 350, and they are really chewy as promised. Give them a try & you won't be disappointed. Oh, on a side note, I noticed a lot of reviewers saying that their dough was difficult to stir but I didn't encounter this problem at all. My cookies are a bit on the flat side, but it doesn't bother me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States