Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Two things: The cookie is great, and I hate to modify recipes the first time, but I just couldn't bear to put in a whole cup of butter, with my daughter trying to lose weight and my cholesterol too high. Several reviewers also mentioned that the coconut flavor was too mild, and I happened to have a jar of virgin coconut oil (firm, same texture and use as butter, but much healthier), so I used half butter, and half coconut oil. Cookie not only came out perfect but it had the extra coconut flavor it needed and that I love. The recipe didn't say what type of brown sugar to use, so I used dark brown. Otherwise, recipe made as written. I used unsweetened coconut, so I did add all the sugar as stated in the recipe. To make them look pretty, however, instead of dropping them on a baking sheet, I used a two tablespoon scoop and smoothed the edges so they weren't shaggy. (I got 66 cookies, and 11 to 12 minutes worked for me, but ladies, no need for times. Everyone's oven bakes differently. What may be a great time for you and me, could still be raw or even overdone for someone else. So we really shouldn't ever state that someone else should bake them a certain time, because that time was good for your oven.) Anyway, the cookies came out picture pretty, and nice and thick and looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I was given the task of making a dessert for our annual Christmas eve celebration so I chose these cookies. I followed the directions to the T and BOY WERE THEY A HIT! I opted to add the Walnuts and as good as they tasted by including them, I feel that omitting them wouldn't do the cookie any justice at all. They added a crunch factor and that coupled with the chewyness of the coconut, made them simply divine. I also liked how the recipe only called for 1 cup of chocolate chips because I feel that any more than that would have overpowered the taste of the cookie. VERY GOOD RECIPE. I WILL make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
great recipe!! all the great ingredients for a good cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BombMeals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
These were really good! If you add some butterscotch chips it makes them even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made these tonight...GREAT taste, but I didnt use any coconut, but instead used M&M mini's, some nuts and some choc chips to make them more like a monster cookie. I found out too, the 10 minutes were the right time, sit out on the baking pan for 1 min then to a cooling rack worked the best while using a dark, nonstick pan. Great tasting cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
One word: Fabulous! Thanks for the excellent recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Markesan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thfrieden
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
We love these in our house and they are so easy to make! Several people have told me they don't like coconut or nuts but like these cookies. I use a pre-heated baking stone and only cook them for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Amazing recipe. I've made it at least 3-4 times in as many months. I use organic, unsweetened coconut and I do add the walnuts. So good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great recipe with so many options for different nuts and fruits! I did omit the 1/2 cup of white sugar since I used sweetened coconut - we did not miss it at all. Baked them for exactly 11 minutes and they were golden brown yet still chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Awesome! Made some substitutions: 1/2 c apple sauce instead of another 1/2 c (stick) of butter, chia seed "eggs", 1/4 c chocolate powder and 1/2 c oat bran in place of some of the flour. Definitely did the 1hr refrigerator pre-bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slycooley24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States