Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Loved these cookies, as did my guests. The only change I made was that I swapped in hazelnuts for the walnuts. A wonderful cookie warm right out of the oven! I put them as hand-rolled balls onto the baking sheet and they didn't flatten much - this made them a little more cake-like in the centre as they didn't flatten too much, but they were delicious this way! Will try flatter next time to see whether I like them as much. I only baked one sheet of cookies (which was gobbled up by my company!). Will freeze the rest in cookie shape so that I can plop them right onto a baking sheet for fresh-out-of-the-oven goodness any night of the week (danger!). Super yum, this recipe is a keeper. EDIT: several delicious batches later, I have made them even better (if possible) by adding 1.5 cups of all natural crunchy peanut butter. I also doubled the baking soda and salt, but will try normal quantities again next time. TRY WITH PEANUT BUTTER - the most complexly delicious cookie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I made these as directed. The combination of coconut and chocolate reminds me of the Samoa Girl Scout cookie. They were really good! They didn't really change shape at ALL in the oven but they might have just been my oven (it's not very good). Great recipe! I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javyjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Really good.. would definitely make again. I used half white and half whole wheat flour. Next time I would add more coconut, bc I really like a strong coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Perfect cookies! My husband always comments on what could be better in all my cooking, he loved these as is. I did not use coconut or nuts, only chocolate. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These remained chewy well after baking! Loved these! I used a medium scoop to place them on cookie sheets which gave them a "store bought" uniformed look. I also omitted the walnuts. They looked great and tasted great! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe! The variations are endless. I reduced the oatmeal to 2 cups, reduced chocolate chips to 1 cup (1/2 milk & 1/2 white chocolate chips). I added 1 cup raisins, 1/2 cup of flax seed, 1/2 cup craisins, 2 tsp cinnamon. I substituted almonds for walnuts. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I made these today and they came out awesome! I only had 2 1/2 cups of oatmeal, no coconut and no vanilla (substituted rum flavor). My husband kept on sneaking them and saying "oh yeah, these are keepers" so they passed his taste test - and that's saying something since he's not much of a cookie eater. This is the first time I can remember (in 15 years together) that he's stolen cookies as I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
So delish! I sub'd in 1/2 cup wheat germ for some of the oats for kicks, threw in some chopped, slivered almonds (all I had), and cut out about 1/4 each of the total brown and white sugar. Refrigerated the dough for about half an hour, and used a small cookie scoop to portion them. Made about 3 dozen small but THICK cookies. I'll be lucky if these make it over a week in this household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
YUMMY! This recipe turned out really well!! great balance of coconut and chocolate chips and they were actually chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zaina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States