Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made a half batch & got 48 cookies using a tablespoon scooper. I subbed toffee chips for the chocolate chips as these are going to be mailed cross-country and it's too hot for choccy chips now. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Good recipe. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour. I made 2 pans with only pecans, and the rest I added some choc chips and craisins. Both were very good. I used unsalted butter so I added the 1/2 tsp salt. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
A very good cookie, definite must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
It's a great recipe overall as it produces a good oatmeal cookie. You can tweak the ratio of the add ins like the chocolate and coconut (omitted the nuts) to suit your tastes. I would recommend keeping the total volume of the add ins the same. My own changes: -used 1.5 sticks of butter -chilled the dough for 30 mins (or overnight even) to produce a chubbier cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
So delicious. This recipe makes tons so I just freeze them and use them over a couple of weeks. These are so good I try to always have them on hand. When I looked at the batter the first time I thought "this will be way too much rolled oats" but it's the perfect amount. I'm at altitude (mile high) and I cook these at 375 for 9.5 minutes, then let them sit for a minute, then put them on a cooling rack. I usually make them without the coconut or walnuts (because I just rarely have those ingredients on hand) and they're still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
These cookies were delicious, I left out the walnuts, however next time i will add raisins ans walnuts but leave out the chocolate chips. This recipe is so versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The best oatmeal recipe I have ever tried. Have been asked for the recipe by all of the school moms & my family. I omit the walnuts due to nut allergies. I only bake them for 12 minutes (make them with the pampered chef med. scoop - so there are a good size). Very Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious cookie and very versatile. I forgot to purchase coconut, and didn't have any chocolate. Instead I added sliced almonds, whole dried cranberries, and an extra cup of oatmeal. They are now tied with my almond macaroons. In fact, I'm about to make another batch with some variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Loved these cookies, as did my guests. The only change I made was that I swapped in hazelnuts for the walnuts. A wonderful cookie warm right out of the oven! I put them as hand-rolled balls onto the baking sheet and they didn't flatten much - this made them a little more cake-like in the centre as they didn't flatten too much, but they were delicious this way! Will try flatter next time to see whether I like them as much. I only baked one sheet of cookies (which was gobbled up by my company!). Will freeze the rest in cookie shape so that I can plop them right onto a baking sheet for fresh-out-of-the-oven goodness any night of the week (danger!). Super yum, this recipe is a keeper. EDIT: several delicious batches later, I have made them even better (if possible) by adding 1.5 cups of all natural crunchy peanut butter. I also doubled the baking soda and salt, but will try normal quantities again next time. TRY WITH PEANUT BUTTER - the most complexly delicious cookie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I made these as directed. The combination of coconut and chocolate reminds me of the Samoa Girl Scout cookie. They were really good! They didn't really change shape at ALL in the oven but they might have just been my oven (it's not very good). Great recipe! I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javyjones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States