Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As written, these are WAY too runny. I wonder if it should read 1/2 cup of milk instead of 1 1/2? I was able to salvage them by adding 1/3 cup more flour, 1/4 cup more oats, some ground walnuts, and a few extra mini chocolate chips to the tops while cooking. After the modifications, my family all enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I chose these because my youngest can't eat egg whites and has to watch everyone else eat pancakes. I used regular flour and cow's milk. I added an extra 1/4 c of oats because it was so runny. I didn't put chips in, but added 1/8c of white sugar. The batter was quite runny even after sitting for about 10 mins, but the pancakes turned out fine. A nice chewy texture from the oats. Next time I'll add a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I made a few minor alterations: I used real milk and chocolate chips. I also added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These pancakes are awesome! I made these exactly as the recipe states & my kids loved them. You would never guess that they are vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made these for a group of kids (post-sleepover breakfast!) so I wanted them to be sweeter. I added 1/4 C brown sugar, 2 T of honey, and 2 T cocoa powder, so they were chocolate-chocolate chip pancakes! I also used whole wheat flour. I poured the batter on then sprinkled the chips over the pancake, and they were ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS, best pancakes I've ever had. Not traditional at all, but very good. The brown sugar seemed to crystalize around the oats, making them have a nice little crunch inside of the gooey, chocolatey pancake. Kind of like a melted Nestle crunch bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I was making this for my daughter as she is very picky and I am struggling to find food that is dairy free that she likes. So I ground the oatmeal to a more powder like in the blender. I didn't have carob chips so I did the applesauce and cinnamon part. They were thicker so I will add more milk but it had a wonderful flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Good but heavy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I agreed with the comment below that these pancakes had a strong aftertaste. Also, when substituting I reccomend that you not use carob powder instead of carob chips. They did not come out very well and was overall disatisfied with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
A GREAT recipe for an indulgent, yet nutritious breakfast. I used regular flour and cow milk and they turned out perfect. ***Make sure you let the batter sit for 5 minutes or so to let the oats and flax soak up the liquid. Mommy and toddlers all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States