Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Try oat flour instead of rolled oats or process rolled oats in the blender. You can also make this wheat free by substituting a blend of Brown Rice flour and Soy flour. If you eat eggs, adding one is sufficient. I have yet to serve these and hear anything but positive comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
These pancakes are lovely! I was skeptical to try this after reading reviews but needed an egg and wheat-free pancake. I was pleasantly surprised! I had to change quite a bit because of what I had on hand and the fact that I was cooking for a wheat, egg, and soy allergy. I used the whole oats as specified in the recipe. I didn't have any flax so I ground more oats and used that in place of the flax. I also couldn't use wheat flour so I used brown rice flour in place of the pastry flour. I then used a scant cup of 2% milk mixed with a scant 1/2 cup of fresh whipping cream in place of the soy milk. I made them small because of some of the comments about not cooking well - I had no problem - they cooked up beautiful! I served them with my homemade banana topping and fresh whipped cream - yummmm! Next time I will try half the amount of salt because I thought they were quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I made these for a group of kids (post-sleepover breakfast!) so I wanted them to be sweeter. I added 1/4 C brown sugar, 2 T of honey, and 2 T cocoa powder, so they were chocolate-chocolate chip pancakes! I also used whole wheat flour. I poured the batter on then sprinkled the chips over the pancake, and they were ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS, best pancakes I've ever had. Not traditional at all, but very good. The brown sugar seemed to crystalize around the oats, making them have a nice little crunch inside of the gooey, chocolatey pancake. Kind of like a melted Nestle crunch bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I made these because I had run out of eggs, but still wanted pancakes. The batter seemed really runny (it's 1/2 milk) but don't let that fool you, it turns out great. There are absolutely delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
As written, these are WAY too runny. I wonder if it should read 1/2 cup of milk instead of 1 1/2? I was able to salvage them by adding 1/3 cup more flour, 1/4 cup more oats, some ground walnuts, and a few extra mini chocolate chips to the tops while cooking. After the modifications, my family all enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
A GREAT recipe for an indulgent, yet nutritious breakfast. I used regular flour and cow milk and they turned out perfect. ***Make sure you let the batter sit for 5 minutes or so to let the oats and flax soak up the liquid. Mommy and toddlers all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Alternative ingred. - rolled buckwheat, ground almond flour and 1C almond milk instead of 1 1/2C, + 3 t. stevia powder - still make a great pancake! This recipe gave me a solution to my food sensitivities, the flax really does the trick in keeping it together (I let it sit to become thicker before pouring) and less liquid and low heat means the cook all the way through. I served with jam sweetened with grape juice. Lovely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I got different results. It seemed when the both sides of the pancake were cooked, nice brown finishes, when I cut into the pancake with a fork, the inside was still gooey. I tried cooking the next batch longer, but that just melted the chocolate chips making a real mess on the griddle. I do not know what I did wrong, but I do not have the patience to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I chose these because my youngest can't eat egg whites and has to watch everyone else eat pancakes. I used regular flour and cow's milk. I added an extra 1/4 c of oats because it was so runny. I didn't put chips in, but added 1/8c of white sugar. The batter was quite runny even after sitting for about 10 mins, but the pancakes turned out fine. A nice chewy texture from the oats. Next time I'll add a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I made a few minor alterations: I used real milk and chocolate chips. I also added a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States