Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Try oat flour instead of rolled oats or process rolled oats in the blender. You can also make this wheat free by substituting a blend of Brown Rice flour and Soy flour. If you eat eggs, adding one is sufficient. I have yet to serve these and hear anything but positive comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
These pancakes were very heavy and rich, but the overall taste was OK. I thought there was a very strong baking powder aftertaste, so I suggest using a non-aluminum baking powder. My boyfriend liked them more than I did, so I'll probably make them again. I think I may add some sugar to the mix and use less choco. chips and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I got different results. It seemed when the both sides of the pancake were cooked, nice brown finishes, when I cut into the pancake with a fork, the inside was still gooey. I tried cooking the next batch longer, but that just melted the chocolate chips making a real mess on the griddle. I do not know what I did wrong, but I do not have the patience to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robby
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
i used whole flax seeds and rolled oats chopped in a food precessor with some apple and banana chunks to wet the mix. also used raisins and cinnamon instead of carob. excellent taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I made these because I had run out of eggs, but still wanted pancakes. The batter seemed really runny (it's 1/2 milk) but don't let that fool you, it turns out great. There are absolutely delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
These were excellent! I loved them. I couldn't find ground flax seed though, and had no equipment on hand to grind them myself, so I bashed up a bunch of whole flax seeds with a spoon. I enjoyed the seedy chunks it left me with, and anyways, who cares if the flax is done right, as long as it's there! So healthy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I really liked these. I followed the recipe exactly, but used chocolate soy milk. I thought this made for a nice "double chocolate" pancake. As someone else noted, batter is thin, but I think it needs to be in order for the pancakes to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
These pancakes are lovely! I was skeptical to try this after reading reviews but needed an egg and wheat-free pancake. I was pleasantly surprised! I had to change quite a bit because of what I had on hand and the fact that I was cooking for a wheat, egg, and soy allergy. I used the whole oats as specified in the recipe. I didn't have any flax so I ground more oats and used that in place of the flax. I also couldn't use wheat flour so I used brown rice flour in place of the pastry flour. I then used a scant cup of 2% milk mixed with a scant 1/2 cup of fresh whipping cream in place of the soy milk. I made them small because of some of the comments about not cooking well - I had no problem - they cooked up beautiful! I served them with my homemade banana topping and fresh whipped cream - yummmm! Next time I will try half the amount of salt because I thought they were quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
These pancakes were great. I was just looking for good flax recipes and found this. One of my kids liked it, one didn't (probably because it was different than what he is used to). I am a pancake fanatic (especially with chocolate chips) and really enjoyed them. I was also concerned with the consistency of the batter, but it turned out alright! Also, I used cake flour instead of the pastry and it turned out fine! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
YUM! We just had these for breakfast and they were great! I had to substitute 1/4 cup whole wheat flour because I only had a half cup of oats and I had to use cow's milk because we were out of soy, but they were great. My 3 year old and one year old loved them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUNKEEPUDDIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States