Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I have four kids and they all absolutely loved them. We did not have any flax seed but added a little more flour and made do. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These were very tasty. I had some trouble with the pancakes sticking, but I suspect it was due to the alternate flours I used -- rice flour plus 1 tsp guar gum. Also, to anyone else who thinks substituting oat flour for the rolled oats is a good idea: plan to add 4 cups of liquid!!! Difficulties aside, they were tasty, the kids enjoyed them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
My kids loved these! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
YUM! We just had these for breakfast and they were great! I had to substitute 1/4 cup whole wheat flour because I only had a half cup of oats and I had to use cow's milk because we were out of soy, but they were great. My 3 year old and one year old loved them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Marr Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
These pancakes were great. I was just looking for good flax recipes and found this. One of my kids liked it, one didn't (probably because it was different than what he is used to). I am a pancake fanatic (especially with chocolate chips) and really enjoyed them. I was also concerned with the consistency of the batter, but it turned out alright! Also, I used cake flour instead of the pastry and it turned out fine! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
These pancakes are lovely! I was skeptical to try this after reading reviews but needed an egg and wheat-free pancake. I was pleasantly surprised! I had to change quite a bit because of what I had on hand and the fact that I was cooking for a wheat, egg, and soy allergy. I used the whole oats as specified in the recipe. I didn't have any flax so I ground more oats and used that in place of the flax. I also couldn't use wheat flour so I used brown rice flour in place of the pastry flour. I then used a scant cup of 2% milk mixed with a scant 1/2 cup of fresh whipping cream in place of the soy milk. I made them small because of some of the comments about not cooking well - I had no problem - they cooked up beautiful! I served them with my homemade banana topping and fresh whipped cream - yummmm! Next time I will try half the amount of salt because I thought they were quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I really liked these. I followed the recipe exactly, but used chocolate soy milk. I thought this made for a nice "double chocolate" pancake. As someone else noted, batter is thin, but I think it needs to be in order for the pancakes to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
These were excellent! I loved them. I couldn't find ground flax seed though, and had no equipment on hand to grind them myself, so I bashed up a bunch of whole flax seeds with a spoon. I enjoyed the seedy chunks it left me with, and anyways, who cares if the flax is done right, as long as it's there! So healthy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I made these because I had run out of eggs, but still wanted pancakes. The batter seemed really runny (it's 1/2 milk) but don't let that fool you, it turns out great. There are absolutely delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robby
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
i used whole flax seeds and rolled oats chopped in a food precessor with some apple and banana chunks to wet the mix. also used raisins and cinnamon instead of carob. excellent taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States