Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Made this recipe and put in a little less baking soda and salt and they had a very strong aftertaste of baking soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is a really good recipe! I had to make a couple changes though - I had gotten the oats and milk soaking and went to get the rest of the ingredients measured out and ready to go. Only to reach for the chocolate chips to discover I didn't have any. So I just tossed in a good handful of raisins, added about a half teaspoon of cinnamon and about a half teaspoon of vanilla instead. I think if I make them with raisins again I will add a bit more cinnamon and maybe another tablespoon or so of milk, I had forgotten the fact that raisins soak up some of the liquid lol I will for sure try this again - maybe next time with the chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pauline Hilary
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Very good....had to make more right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline Hilary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Soaking the oats in chocolate milk and adding 1 tsp vanilla added some extra yummy-ness. I used mini chocolate chips, left out the nuts (step kids won't eat them) and added more chocolate chips. I also left off the brown sugar topping as I felt it would be way too sweet. Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I used this recipe today and changed it up some. I used have wheat flour and half all purpose flour, half oil and half applesauce, then added cinnamon and vanilla extract. I didn't have nuts so I added ground flaxseed to give them a nutty flavor. Since I was looking a more fall flavor I used white chocolate chip mixed with pumpkin spice chips. They are delicious! Thank you for the base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
These muffins were delicious! We used whole wheat flour which made them look pretty dark and we were worried they were burnt, but they weren't at all. The consistency of the batter was definitely wetter than "moist", so mix until combined (don't overmix) would be a better way to put it. The only thing I would change is the amount of baking powder. You can taste it in every bite, and I questioned the amount while mixing it in. I would definitely recommend using only 2-3 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Was dry and taste was odd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie-France Paquette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I've made the recipe 3 times now- once each with chocolate chips, peaches, & strawberries. We've loved them each time! It makes a great base batter to add whatever you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
After reading several of the reviews I decided to go ahead and try these...I didn't have nuts on hand so I used 1 cup dark chocolate chips...I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla since a couple reviewers seemed to think these muffins lacked flavor...I used whole oats since that's what I have on hand...I first measured them out and added the milk so they could soak...I didn't top the muffins since I had no nuts and only 1/2 cup brown sugar (will try next time)...I also used extra virgin organic coconut for the oil...They were not dry in any way...My verdict? The muffins were tasty but definitely could have benefited from the brown sugar/nut topping...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
The muffins were very dense and heavy. I followed the suggestions of adding vanilla and cinnamon and using 1/2 oil, 1/2 applesauce but there was still very little flavour and the muffins were so heavy I didn't receive any positive responses in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States