Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This was a great recipe. I used coconut oil instead of shortening. I also used whole wheat flour. The baking soda was a little too strong the first time so I only added half the second time and they were perfect! Kids and adults loved them. Thank you for such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Cut the recipe in half because I didn't want too many cookies... I used about 1 1/2 egg white instead for the half recipe, also used whole wheat flour (1/2 cup) and grinded up oats (1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons) as a substitute for white flour. I also used organic cane sugar instead of white. I also used regular butter to reduce the amount of processed food. Transformed the cookies to healthier and less processed cookies! Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
These cookies were not the best i made a few the size of teaspoons and some half teaspoons and i did'nt get even 50. And after they baked they were paper thin. Yeah of course they're gonna be 35 calories if their that small!!! they taste reasonable, the texture is not very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
My changes: All whole wheat flour, reduced brown sugar to 1/2 cup (still VERY sweet in my opinion), used one egg, reduced butter (used instead of shortening) to 6T and used 3T of applesauce, eliminated water, added 1/4 c ground flax, increased oats to 3/4 c. The result was a flat, delicious, moist, chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These cookies are amazing! They were the best snack ever!!!!!!!!!!! The only thing I would change is put them in the oven for less time. I put it in for the time it said and they turned out HARD... nut nothing a piece of fresh bread can't fix. I put the piece of bread in at night and when I got up the cookies were so yummy and soft!!!!! This is one of the best chocolate chip recipe EVER! You rock ALISON!!!!!! Mmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love these. I made them just a bit bigger but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Oh my yummy, chewy goodness! Wonderful recipe! I cooked exactly as directed and they turned out so good. I took them out of the oven when they barely started browning on the edges. At first I thought I undercooked them, but it turned out that they were perfect. I loved that the oatmeal was not overpowering. I used large chocolate chips because that's what I had. I think minis might be better because there's not a lot of chocolate compared to regular choc chip recipes and it could "spread out" the chocolate flavor better. Are these really low fat? They sure don't taste it. This is my new favorite cookie recipe. I don't think I'll ever make regular choc chip cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
These were great with the changes I made. I used 1/2 cup of butter instead of the shortening, raw sugar instead of white, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 white flour, 2 tsp. vanilla, 2 whole eggs, 2 TBSP creamy peanut butter, and an extra half cup of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Chlebda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These were really, really good. Nice and soft. Next time will add more chocolate chips and more oatmeal. Will definately use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Remember people - it's nutritional value PER SERVING; the reason it appears to be so low in fat is because it claims to make 100 cookies, one hundred from this amount of ingredients... I don't think so - - maybe 36?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States