Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Excellent cookies. I used half Crisco and half butter. Also added 1 tsp. vanilla and decreased salt. Cookies were done in 8-9 minutes. Let baked cookies sit on cookie sheet for a few minutes to firm up. Don't grease cookie sheet and the cookies won't 'flatten'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Excellent cookies! I took the advice of a few other readers and used 1/2 shortening,1/2 butter. I also added 1 teaspoon vanilla & 1 teaspoon water. I baked at 350 for 8 minutes but I moved my oven rack up one from the usual postion ( 3rd row) I allowed them to sit on the cookie sheet for 1 minute and transferred to a rack.....Perfect. I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These were so wonderful! I had no shortening, so used butter. Also, my kids don't like oatmeal, so I measure out the oatmeal and then turn it into a flour in my grinder. Only took 10 mins at 350 in a convection oven. I only wish I had thought about the butter being salted and I wouldn't have added the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Delicious, with some adjustments. I used butter instead of shortenings, added 1 tsp vanilla and an extra cup of oatmeal. They did not spread at all! Baked for 11min @ 350. Next time I'll try another reviewers suggestion of adding cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I have been using this reciepe for about a year now. The only thing I changed was using 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavored Crisco and added 1 tsp. each of vanilla and cinnamon. I also quadrupled the reciepe because I can't keep them in the cookie jar ... and my husband is the only one eating them! He RAVES about them to all the guys at work but I've threatened his very life if he gives anyone a taste. I'll be darned if I'm going to start making batches for the guys at work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Hunt
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Melt in your mouth delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was amazing!!! I followed another cook's advice and added vanilla and butter instead of shortening. It was so delicious it was hard for me to get the batter into the oven!!! I baked one batch and froze the rest so I can have them at a moment's notice. HURRAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used the shortening as the recipe states but as another user suggested added 1/2 c. oats, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and just a pinch of salt (instead of the amount called for on the recipe). Also, the cooking time of 15 minutes would have been way too done, I only baked mine for 10-11 minutes. Perfect and not flat at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I have used this recipe dozens of times now - I don't really care for raisins but I crave an good oatmeal based cookie and I think this is a good middle ground. I do add a bit of vanilla, cinnamon and a bit extra oats - usually 1/4 cup. But these cookies always turn out fabulous. I stick with the shortening, I have terrible luck backing with real butter, it never turns out right. Anyways, great recipe Sheryl, I really enjoy them and so does my entire family!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by animeflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I decided to follow the recipe the first time... and next time I think I will incorporate some of the suggestions. There weren't enough oats for my taste, next time it'll be 3 cups. I did cheat and add a tsp of vanilla, and glad that I did. The cookies were coming out a bit overdone on the outside and underdone on the inside at 9 minutes on 350F- after the first pan, I turned it down to 325F for 10-11mins and they came out much more even (but that could be my oven). I think some ground flax would be easily added, and minimally noticed. This recipe would also be great for other add-ins like dried cranberries, walnuts, butterscotch chips, or maybe some peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States