Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
These were good. I didn't have shortening so I used butter. I added a little extra flour and oats as well as 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Though I wish I had added more than that! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
We liked these cookies. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. I used equal parts of flour and whole wheat flour. I added 2 tablespoons of vanilla extract and 1 tsp of cinnamon. Once I mixed everything, I added a little more flour. I cooked on a baking stone and it took much longer ... It took at least 25 mins. Halfway through, I increased from 350 to 375 because they did not look like they were cooking. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
After reviewing 20 "best" oatmeal choc chip recipes on the web, this is the best bet. Vanilla missing must have been an accidental omission from the start. Atkins Approach followers know that replacing shortening with butter is a "must." I was surprised to discover after baking this recipe that it is almost identical to the Nestle choc chip recipe on the bag. Add the vanilla and use butter in place of shortening and you are there. Nestles uses an extra 3/4 cup of flour, which would make less runny as they spread. Add oatmeal, and you have oatmeal cookies instead of Toll House. Those reviewers who say it makes a flatter cookie are correct...butter is 15% liquid and 85% fat. Some soothsayers adjust for this by adding an extra 2 TBSP butter for every cup of shortening called for in a recipe. Last of all, allrecipes bakers who say a recipe turned out too dry might have used smaller eggs and drier flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe to a T. The oven was fully preheated to 350, I left my cookies in for a full 15 minutes, and for some weird reason, the bottoms burned and tops did not cook, and they spread out like mush unevenly in the pan. I have no idea where I went wrong! I have followed ridiculously difficult recipes worse than this one before, and I have never gone wrong with a batch of cookies until this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I followed the direction and these were crunchy as soon as they cooled. The flavor was good and right out of the oven the we're perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I followed the instructions almost exactly as stated. I used vegetable shortening which made the dough really thick so I added about 1/4 cup almond milk. I also added 1 tsp vanilla like others did. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
After following this recipe exactly the first time, I felt that something was missing. I tried using butter instead of shortening, but the cookies were very flat, so I played around some more. Finally, I used butter flavored vegetable shortening and added a pinch of cinnamon. This was the key. I also refrigerated the dough for an hour or so before baking. Now the recipe is 5 stars. These are now my go-to cookies. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I love this recipe! I add dried cherries to this one and it is a favorite every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I love these cookies! They are delicious! Next time I'll add a few tsp. of vanilla extract. They are so good, and the chocolate chips make it taste so rich! I used 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of butterscotch chips instead of 2 cups of chocolate chips only. They gave it a sweet, chocolaty, rich flavor that was amazing! I had to bake mine for 17 minutes instead of 15. They are so good! I'll make these again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Yummy recipe! I substituted butter for shortening and substituted white whole wheat flour for the all purpose flour. Cookies baked up nice and the recipe made a lot of cookies! Two-year old and hubby approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States