Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Everyone loved this cookie!! I did not use nuts. Even my friends that are shy went back to the cookie jar for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe, but found batter to be dry with listed ingredients. I love cooking but not a true pro, so I thought of adding one more egg (for total of 2). Nuts I used were 1/2 pecans and 1/2 cashews (both chopped). Turned out great! Can be easily overcooked/browned, but still soft inside either way. Thx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a great basic recipe. Chewy and perfect. I froze half of the batch and the frozen ones are sooo good, too. The only addition I made was an extra cup of chips. This will now be my go to chocolate chipp cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
My enthusiasm was tempered by the fact that there were only 10 reviews about these cookies. However I was feeling wild and dangerous so I decided to give them a try. (That's just how I roll.)The recipe is perfect as is, but the cookies are really rich, so use a small cookie scoop. This is a chocolate chip cookie with some oomph (texture) which I really like. The nuts I used were pecans and they kept the texture from getting mushy and stuck to the roof of your mouth.(That doesn't happen to anyone else? My bad)The dough seems a little dry at first, but if you chill it overnight then bake them, the consistency is perfect. It would not hurt a thing in the world to back off the brown sugar, use applesauce, substitute raisins for chocolate, add flax seed, or whatever to make this a little healthier snack for your kiddos. This recipe can handle it. Almost like a granola cookie, but you know exactly what's in them. Personally, I'll eat them endulgently, feel fat and guilty about eating them, then get over it. I just don't hang on to negative feelings too long ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
These are great. I made them as written with a couple additions: 1 t of cinnamon, and an extra 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. The batter will be very stiff and that's ok. They bake up chewy and delicious. Be sure to let them sit on the pan for a couple of minutes to let them set before you move them. I baked them just until the edges were brown - they looked slightly underdone in the middle, but they finished perfectly. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cassarugh
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very good recipe. I love sweets but this may have been a little too sweet for me. Next time I will try cutting the sugar back by a 1/4 cup. I used a cookie scoop to place them on the pan and they ended up spreading nicely to the perfect thickness. I had a problem with subsequent pans and the cookies cooking too quickly so I turned the temp down to 325 degrees but I was using convection oven and that's new to me so perhaps that is needed in convection ovens regardless. These were chewy the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Loved! Omitted the nuts and used milk chocolate chips. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
These cookies are wonderful. Next time I would cut back the brown sugar by ¼ cup because it was a smidgeon too sweet for me. I used special dark chocolate chips and increase the amount by ½ cup because why wouldn’t you? I’m only human.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Excellent cookie recipe. Perfect texture. I'll be playing with the recipe to try to make it more health conscious (I've seen some great reviews here for it) but this cookie is amazing, and dangerous!, as is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Kids really liked them. Reduced brown sugar to 1 cup and substituted apple sauce for the butter. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States