Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This cake recipe is good, but not extraordinary. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this cake for a cookout party. Fairly quick and easy to make, but can't say I loved it. Was ok good, didn't get any wonderful feedback from everybody. Good, but not outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is awesome!! I followed others advice and increased my cocoa to 3 Tblspns. I got carried away only because I had extra chocolate chips. I added quite a bit extra chocolate chips. I cooked it and stopped at 35 minutes as suggested by another. However, not only was it not ready,it required an additional 15 minutes! So it baked 50 minutes in my oven. It was moist and wonderful and we will fix this again. I will probably play with it a little and follow some of the suggestions of other reviewers. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This recipe is very much like the Chocolate Oat Snack Cake recipe on this site. I made this one to compare it to the other and this one needs alot more cocoa to make it chocolatey. I used almost 1/4 c. of cocoa, 1 teaspoon is not enough. I also used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar and thought it was still sweet enough. Great chocolate snack cake with the additional cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
We love oatmeal cakes and the flavors in this one are excellent but, find it better to cream the butter and sugar separately before adding the oatmeal mixture. I feel it gives a lighter end product and also,because of preference, cut back on sugar by 1/2 cup and still excellent results. P.S. I can never understand how a recipe that is submitted can be given a high rating after it has been changed so much it doesn't even resemble the original cake........I rest my case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
My mom cut out this recipe in the Harleysville Newspaper years ago, and she lost it when we moved. She is SOOOO happy that I found this recipe using cook'n recipe's on my laptop!!!! Thanks SOOO much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Turned out great, added 2 spoons of cocoa and only 1 cup of brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
was super easy to make and everyone LOVED them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Michel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used this recipe with my Bella fluted cake maker. It yielded 30 fluted cakes and they were very yummie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
it was good, but seemed to need a little something else...but i don't know what. the flavor seemed better the day after cooking then the day it was made. will probably make again...maybe with a drizzle of some sort on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States