Oatmeal Cherry Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These were delicious, and a nice change from the standard oatmeal cookie. Changes I made: used regular butter instead of shortening, used cherry flavored craisins instead of dried cherries, and baked them only 10 minutes to keep them chewy. They were a big hit at a superbowl party! I got 3-1/2 dozen large cookies out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Read a lot of the reviews and noticed the trend of using dried cranberries instead of the tart cherries. I really think the whole thing that makes this cookie so yummy is the TART CHERRY so definitely stick with that- otherwise it's really a whole new recipe, not just a tweak. They really are delicious and the tartness of the dried cherry is nice departure from the usual sweet raisins in oatmeal cookies. If you want to make it special try dipping half in melted semisweet CHOCOLATE and letting cool on parchment paper, adding mini choc chips to the batter, or drizzling with chocolate(milk, white or dark)- all pretty simple if you melt it in the microwave. Those are things I do when I am making as gifts but I enjoy them as is myself. Also for the people with flat cookies who used BUTTER- just wondering if anyone tried COOLING the dough in the fridge for a bit before scooping and baking- that tends to prevent that sort of thing. I guess then you might want to shape them a bit since they won't spread quite as much themselves when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
These were fabulous oatmeal cookies, however next time I would leave out the cherries, as they tasted like expensive raisins to me. I think they would be perfect with just the walnuts. I substituted margarine for the shortening and they were perfectly chewy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I made these cookies a few days ago. These were the best! I made them with dried cranberries instead of the cherries. I have made a lot of oatmeal cookies, I must say this is the best recipie I have found for oatmeal cookies. If you don't overcook them, they are moist and delious. The whole batch was gone in a day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I have to agree with previous "Razen Kane"'s review on this one. Not a spectacular cookie. Ok flavor and the cherries were too tart and too big for a cookie. Gave the cookies a slight sour taste. Might try chopped marachino cherries and maybe some nutmeg next time- if there is a next time. Sorry, not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made these all winter and my family loved them! I only made two small changes, I used marashcino cherries and added a tiny bit of vanilla. The cherries turned the dough a slight pinkish color but they were barely able to cool before they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Very good! Unless you want your cookies to be round like a meatball you should press them down before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
A great alternative to traditional chocolate chip cookies. Although very easy to make and very enjoyable, they were not the most memorable cookies I have tasted. I think this is because the ingriedients are not overpowering. This is a safe cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The taste of these cookies were good, but mine fell apart, something I've never really had happen before. In all fairness I did use butter instead of shortening and I put them too close together when I baked them, they spread alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I would give this 10 stars if I could! I added choc. chips just to make them yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States