Oatmeal Cherry Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Absolutely to-die-for! They are amazing and were a huge hit with everyone who tried them. I will definitely be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My family loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I made these all winter and my family loved them! I only made two small changes, I used marashcino cherries and added a tiny bit of vanilla. The cherries turned the dough a slight pinkish color but they were barely able to cool before they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly EXCEPT I used butter instead of shortening. These turned out flat, I don't think they could have got any flatter! My cookie sheet became one giant cookie! Good thing for me I lined the cookie sheet with parchment paper or I don't think I would have got them off the pan. They became ugly cookie peices in a variety of sizes. My guess is it's too much sugar & too much butter. I was thinking maybe halving the butter & replacing the other half with applesauce. I gave this recipe 3 stars because they tasted good....probably all that fat! I'm sure there are WAY better oatmeal cookie recipies out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Tasty and soft cookies; however, cookies spread way too much and were impossible to get off the "ungreased" cookie sheet. I was afraid to grease the cookie sheet as I didn't need the cookies to spread any more!! I managed to get about a dozen cookies out of this batch (the rest were crumbs that were eaten by me or thrown away). Will try again but will add more flour to the mixture and will play it smart and make half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Very good. I like the chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I have to agree with previous "Razen Kane"'s review on this one. Not a spectacular cookie. Ok flavor and the cherries were too tart and too big for a cookie. Gave the cookies a slight sour taste. Might try chopped marachino cherries and maybe some nutmeg next time- if there is a next time. Sorry, not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Very good! Unless you want your cookies to be round like a meatball you should press them down before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
These were fabulous oatmeal cookies, however next time I would leave out the cherries, as they tasted like expensive raisins to me. I think they would be perfect with just the walnuts. I substituted margarine for the shortening and they were perfectly chewy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
I made these cookies a few days ago. These were the best! I made them with dried cranberries instead of the cherries. I have made a lot of oatmeal cookies, I must say this is the best recipie I have found for oatmeal cookies. If you don't overcook them, they are moist and delious. The whole batch was gone in a day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States