Oatmeal Cherry Walnut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Good cookie! I didn't bake quite as long because I like chewy cookies. Everything else as written. I love the tart cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
this is really delicious.. i have baked this and really its a success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chinee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I'll give it 5 stars even though I did sub some things along with a few mods. Didn't use baking powder - wanted a flat/chewy cookie. I did up the soda to 1.5 tsp. I REFUSE to use shortening so subbed with butter. Used only 1/2 C of each sugar (personal pref). Upped the vanilla and added 1/2 scant tsp of pure almond extract. I only had rolled oats so my adj was 1.5 C flour & 2.5 C of oats that got chopped a bit finer in a food processor. I find if you plump up the dried cherries in some hot water and then rough chop them, they incorporate in the dough better. I mixed this in the evening and left dough in fridge all night. I do bring back to room temp b4 baking. My small round scooper holds 2 T of dough which worked perfect for me. Used a large non-stick sheet pan but lightly sprayed it with non-stick anyway. I also made sure to space them well as I knew mine would spread. Baked on an upper rack in the oven. I had no problems getting cookies off the pan after they sat there for a few minutes. Wow, I got exactly what I wanted - a flat, chewy, moist & delicious cookie. Careful not to overbake, my cookies got darker color while waiting to take them off the baking sheet. Note: I find inexpensive dried cherries at Walmart (the Great Value brand) alongside the Craisins. Thanks Chef Doogie for the recipe even if I did alter it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These were fabulous!! Used butter- can't stand shortening! Turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I would give this 10 stars if I could! I added choc. chips just to make them yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I made this exactly on the first try. Turned out great. Next batch I used butter instead of shortening, cherry flavored cranberries, and macadamia nuts. Also very tasty. Terrific base recipe for an oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colcord, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I am a cookie queen and I can say this recipe lacks alot! But they did taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Read a lot of the reviews and noticed the trend of using dried cranberries instead of the tart cherries. I really think the whole thing that makes this cookie so yummy is the TART CHERRY so definitely stick with that- otherwise it's really a whole new recipe, not just a tweak. They really are delicious and the tartness of the dried cherry is nice departure from the usual sweet raisins in oatmeal cookies. If you want to make it special try dipping half in melted semisweet CHOCOLATE and letting cool on parchment paper, adding mini choc chips to the batter, or drizzling with chocolate(milk, white or dark)- all pretty simple if you melt it in the microwave. Those are things I do when I am making as gifts but I enjoy them as is myself. Also for the people with flat cookies who used BUTTER- just wondering if anyone tried COOLING the dough in the fridge for a bit before scooping and baking- that tends to prevent that sort of thing. I guess then you might want to shape them a bit since they won't spread quite as much themselves when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The taste of these cookies were good, but mine fell apart, something I've never really had happen before. In all fairness I did use butter instead of shortening and I put them too close together when I baked them, they spread alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Awesome recipe! I also used butter instead of the butter flavored shortening (what is that stuff, really?). Can someone who uses organic products comment on making the butter, white sugar, and brown sugar creamy? It did not work for me. My organic mixture never became creamy and I ended up having to add an additional 1/4c flour to make the cookies hold their shape. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States