Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
i tried this recipe twice, once with old fashiioned oats which produced a powdery crust. After reading reviews, I tried again with quick oats which yeilded a perfect crust. I am very happy with this recipe and so is my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthy4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Too gooey and cant get them out of the pan without falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is a good recipe, but I only give it four stars because I could not taste or even see the carmel sauce. I used my homemade caramel sauce (which is way better than store-bought!), and used the same amount that the recipe states, but we didn't even taste it once they're done, only the chocolate. I will be making this again, but probably doubling up on the caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smach

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I've made these about 10 times. I make them by switching from lower rack to upper rack so both layers cook evenly. This is great base recipe for 2 layer cookies. As long as you switch racks between layers you can make these kind of cookies as thick as you like and they will cook evenly and be soft in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
So simple and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe is fool-proof....i actually messed up the first 2x i made it and everyone loved it just the same. My version has one slight tweak -- add 1/4 cup regular oats to the remaining dough before you put over the top of the chocolate and caramel. Adds a little texture and very yummy. My teenage sons friends ask him for these for the birthdays. I even had a teacher rig a class activity so that HE had to bring in the treat.....she specifically asked for these! I let sit overnight before cutting, otherwise really gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
You DO NOT need to change a thing about this recipe. I followed the recipe EXACTLY as written, and the only difference was that I doubled it to make a 9x13 pan. I did not alter any of the measurements when I doubled the recipe. I melted the butter in the microwave just to where it was softened all the way through, but not completely liquid. I baked each layer as is, but lightly patted down the top layer of oatmeal crumble into the caramel layer so that it would not be too loose and crumbly after baking, but that's about it. Otherwise, I baked these the night before and when they were done, I let them set up overnight on the counter. The following morning I used a very sharp knife around the edges and was able to cut into the bars with no problems or sticking because they set up very well overnight. The bars came out very easily from the pan, I did not use any foil or parchment paper on the bottom of the pan. All was needed was a metal spatula to get them out. I was able to cut about 4 1/2 dozen small bars, which was more than enough because each bite was very rich and perfectly sweet. I placed each bar into cupcake tins, and they were excellent treats for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUIW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
OMG! These are fabulous! We used to call them Awful Sweet Things (awful good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mathgirl64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Long Neck, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
These are delicious but a little messy. Recipe calls for 9X9 pan bust says it makes 36. This would be really tiny bites. I doubled the recipe and use 13X9 pan and cut 4 by 7. I probably could have cut them 4 by 8 but still would end up with 32 servings with a doubled recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I can usually tell if I have a winner when I taste the dough, I can eat it like cookies. :) I was disappointed by this dough however, it seemed unspectacular and buttery. Still, it looked fantastic and gooey and bubbly when I pulled it out of the oven (it took about 10 minutes longer than quoted to get golden) and I took the advice of several reviewers and let it cool before cutting. I had a bite then, and thought it was ok. Fast forward 7 hours-it's now past bedtime, everyone's asleep, and the flavors have had a chance to meld. I cut another sliver and another and another and honestly, I think I've eaten half the dang pan, they're so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States