Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Fantastic cookies! My son is allergic to nuts, so I left out the pecans and made up for it with a bit more oats and chocolate chips. I also add 1 tsp of pure vanilla to the "crust" mixture. After making this several times, I've found the butter is the key to cookie consistency. If you melt the butter and add it when it's still warm, the crust will be more cookie-like (think Toll House cookies on top and bottom. If, however, you just soften the butter and add it at room temperature, they are more like bar cookies, with a distinct crust, chocolate chip & caramel layer, and a crumbly topping. In addition, putting them in the fridge for an hour or so before cutting improves them even more. These last about 2 days in our house and require at least a gallon of milk to be on hand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Oh my GOD. Unbelievable. If you're making these, plan ahead: run an extra 20 minutes, or whatever you do to make up for cookies like these cuz there will be ZERO self control.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
YUMMY! Hello chocolate lovers this is the recipe for you! Very easy to prepare, definitely will make this again. Also, I think the topping/crust would be absolutely, sinfully DELICIOUS as a topping on vanilla ice cream. I was eating it out of the bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
These are truly incredible. After baking a batch and sending them with my husband to work, complete strangers called me to get the recipe, and now they ask for them regularly. It's true that they taste better after a night in the fridge, but just try to get them to last that long, I dare you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Wow...I had the stuff to make this recipe and it was so easy! I don't like walnuts so I used pecans. I am trying to wait until the morning to eat anymore. It's a good thing I am on a diet or the whole pan would be gone! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
It doesn't get much better than this! I did however omit the walnuts (just not a fan of them). This is a regular request from my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSBERNDTJR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
These were so easy to make! I took them to an anniversary party and everyone commented on how good they were. I used milk chocolate chips and pressed the crumb topping down a bit before baking so they wouldn't be as crumbly to eat. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I took these camping with friends this past weekend and they were gone in a flash. I used a 8x8 pan, milk chocolate chips and left out the walnuts. Sweet and decadent. The perfect treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I doubled the recipe but kept the amount of chocolate chips to 1 cup. I used an electric knife to ensure smooth and sharp edges (SEE MY PHOTO) since it was a bit difficult to cut without crumbling. Be mindful of the serving amount. I can't see how a 9 x 9 pan can serve 36 people. I just doubled the recipe and it was "inhaled" my only 6 people. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I'm not usually a huge fan of oatmeal baked goods or nuts, but these were fabulous. I made them for a dinner series I'm catering, not expecting to like them all that much, and I couldn't keep my hands off them! I had to make another batch for my family. The first time I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 x 13 pan. It worked out very well. The second time, using the recipe as written, it didn't seem to come out quite as well, but who knows why? They still got devoured! These are now in my dessert rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States