Oatmeal Carmelitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
These are my very favorite treat. The only alteration I made was to make my own carmel sauce as I don't keep premade in the house. Very simple and everyone in my house loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Rich, warm and very delicious. Easy too, which is dangerous. I made no changes to this recipe and was very happy with the results. So was everyone else. It took 10 minutes for the pan to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great with changes. It's very sweet as is, and I'd say it serves more like 12 for a 9x9 or 18-24 for a 9x13. I one and a half the recipe (a 9x13 is a bit more than 1.5x the size of a 9x9) by changing the servings to 54 and use MOST of those measurements instead. I use 2 sticks of softened (not melted or it'll make your crust tough!) butter, less chocolate chips than called for (maybe 5 oz. for the 1 1/2 recipe) and one 12 oz. jar of caramel (an even cup? Why is 12 oz. an even cup? I measured it and it's exactly 1 cup...). I bake it all in a Pyrex 9x13 for the suggested times. It's crazy simple and travels, stores & freezes beautifully. Perfect pot luck or BBQ take-along. This would be great with ice cream for those of you who love to gild the lily...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carissa S

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
one word-DEADLY! we love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These are delicious! I've made them many times and always get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I didn't think i was going to like these as much as i did but they were great. took for dessert to a friends house and everyone goo goo'd over them! Not quite as decedent as the 7 layer bars, but these are fast and easy and super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great dessert! Made as written but without the nuts. Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I love this recipe. I use pecans in place of walnuts, but otherwise follow the recipe exactly. Just thinking about them makes me want to go make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dondra108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These are fantastic! Every single time I've made them they are a huge hit. I've tried cutting the butter, and I end up having them being too crumbly, but still delicious carmelitas. I've finally accepted that I have to use all the butter if I want to make a good presentation with them. I don't happen to like walnuts so I subsitute pecans. I've also used peanut butter, but they are much better with caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
These were so yummy. Altho i had to do mine alittle different..i used almonds b/c that was all i had and i didnt have carmel i had butterscotch so i used that..they came out really good!! I think my fave part was the chocolate. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States